Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 10:23 PM   #31
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Share |
Default

shed power suggestions


Yeah your right (need to open my eyes)I thought the 90 was backfed from the meter so that wouldn't be an issue but all those cables cannot be clamped in one knockout. Also any subpanels fed from that meter main to the inside should be 4 wires.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 10:30 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Default

shed power suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yeah your right (need to open my eyes)I thought the 90 was backfed from the meter so that wouldn't be an issue but all those cables cannot be clamped in one knockout. Also any subpanels fed from that meter main to the inside should be 4 wires.
yep i know they should be 4 wire and will be once i buy the house and can make my own changes, till then this early 80's era house has got to stay the way it is, apparently thats how they wired crap back then as most all of the houses are wired that way around here from what i can tell...

Ratt
rsriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 11:34 PM   #33
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

shed power suggestions


These crap meter sockets that are installed around here seem to be part of some kind of POCO program to update services on their part without actually updating the interior wiring. All the ones I have replaced have breakers in them for the water heater, range, dryer, A/C and a 3-wire feed to what's usually a fuse box inside. At one time, there was just a meter base and that 3-wire feed would have been legal as the fuse box was the service equipment.

Best I can figure, the POCO side steps the NEC requirement of having a 4-wire feed going inside by falling back on the old stand-by "we're the utility, and that's our meter socket, so we're exempt from the NEC". I guess to an extent they are right, but in my opinion, it's jack leg. I get quite a bit of satisfaction beating one of these off the wall with my Estwing. Ahhh...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:21 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Default

shed power suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I get quite a bit of satisfaction beating one of these off the wall with my Estwing. Ahhh...
i'll have one here in about 3 months that i'd be more then willing to let you beat off with an estwing, that is if you wont charge to much to come to crestview, florida, perhaps a semi working vacation, after all we do have the worlds best beaches with sugar white sand about 30 mins from me...

or perhaps you wouldnt mind commenting on my plan in post 27 of this thread, seems it got overlooked in the heated chit chat about my meter, then we can get back to these dang P.O.S. meter sockets...

Ratt
rsriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 01:30 AM   #35
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

shed power suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsriverrat View Post
i'll have one here in about 3 months that i'd be more then willing to let you beat off with an estwing, that is if you wont charge to much to come to crestview, florida, perhaps a semi working vacation, after all we do have the worlds best beaches with sugar white sand about 30 mins from me...

or perhaps you wouldnt mind commenting on my plan in post 27 of this thread, seems it got overlooked in the heated chit chat about my meter, then we can get back to these dang P.O.S. meter sockets...

Ratt
Darn, I'm not licensed in Florida, but thanks for the offer. I would have done the job for treefidy.

But post #27... let's see... I guess I overlooked it and went straight to the last page. But yes, that will work just fine, but there really is no need to switch the receptacles, unless you just want to. Personally, I like to keep the lights and receptacles on separate circuits, but that's just me.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:20 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Default

shed power suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Darn, I'm not licensed in Florida, but thanks for the offer. I would have done the job for treefidy.

But post #27... let's see... I guess I overlooked it and went straight to the last page. But yes, that will work just fine, but there really is no need to switch the receptacles, unless you just want to. Personally, I like to keep the lights and receptacles on separate circuits, but that's just me.
sorry to hear that you arent licensed in fl, maybe if u come my way when i am replacing my meter socket you can direct me to the best way to swing the estwing.. lol

anyway i had thought about having them on seperate circuits, however since this is going to be a multiwire on a double pole breaker it wont much matter if a trip a breaker cause i am going to lose the lights anyway regardless since both sides of the breaker will trip if there is a overcurrent condition. so my theory was to have less lights on the circuit the compressor will run on, and more lights on the circuit less power consuming devices will run on, and then i can kill all the power to the shed as i walk out the door, well all but for the motion light.. thats my theory anyway, maybe you or someone else can give me a better solution?

thanks for the laughs and help

Ratt
rsriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:42 PM   #37
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

shed power suggestions


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Darn, I'm not licensed in Florida, but thanks for the offer. I would have done the job for treefidy.

But post #27... let's see... I guess I overlooked it and went straight to the last page. But yes, that will work just fine, but there really is no need to switch the receptacles, unless you just want to. Personally, I like to keep the lights and receptacles on separate circuits, but that's just me.
Does he need to have a disconnect of some sorts in this building(shed)?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 08:52 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 04:51 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.