Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2009, 09:34 AM   #1
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shed Power Plan


Getting power to shed located at other side of the house.

50A breaker in main panel
Run 6/3 NM from panel through the attic to the other side of the house
Come out of house about 12" above grade
Splice to 6/3 UF in junction box (mininum 35ci)
Over to shed, about 8 feet from house, in 1-1/2 PVC
Stub up through shed slab with PVC
Continue through shed about 15' with UF to subpanel location

Does this sound reasonable?

zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 09:52 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Shed Power Plan


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
Getting power to shed located at other side of the house.

50A breaker in main panel
Run 6/3 NM from panel through the attic to the other side of the house
Come out of house about 12" above grade
Splice to 6/3 UF in junction box (mininum 35ci)
Over to shed, about 8 feet from house, in 1-1/2 PVC
Stub up through shed slab with PVC
Continue through shed about 15' with UF to subpanel location

Does this sound reasonable?
Mostly OK, but two things. Why not take 6-3 UF all the way to the main panel and avoid the splice? Also, why not stub the pipe up in the slab at the location of the sub, instead of running for 15' inside?

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Shed Power Plan


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
Getting power to shed located at other side of the house.

50A breaker in main panel
Run 6/3 NM from panel through the attic to the other side of the house
Come out of house about 12" above grade
Splice to 6/3 UF in junction box (mininum 35ci)
Over to shed, about 8 feet from house, in 1-1/2 PVC
Stub up through shed slab with PVC
Continue through shed about 15' with UF to subpanel location

Does this sound reasonable?
Do not put the UF in a conduit. Run individual conductors in the conduit. Like InPhase said, run the conduit underground and under the slab all the way to where the panel will be. That is if the slab is not already poured.
If its not poured, you can run as many conduits as needed under the slab and stub up for receptacle boxes and switch boxes. Most of your branch circuits. This saves on time and material.
I love to get in there before they pour the slab just for this reason.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:43 PM   #4
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shed Power Plan


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Mostly OK, but two things. Why not take 6-3 UF all the way to the main panel and avoid the splice?
By the time I go up, across, and down its about a 75 foot run from the panel to the other side of the house. Using NM will save a few bucks, but it might not be worth it. If I don't have to splice I can skip the big junction box and run it out of the house through an LB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Also, why not stub the pipe up in the slab at the location of the sub, instead of running for 15' inside?
That would be my first choice. I got hardpan to deal with. I'm going from the house to the shed with the least amount of digging. Its easier to drill a few holes in 2x4's than it is to dig.

I started digging this morning and ran into problems. I don't mind using a shovel, but having to use a 6' digging bar to chip away at it gets boring fast. I'm soaking it for a few hours and that might loosen it up. If I can't get down to 18", I'm thinking of using RMC instead.
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:00 PM   #5
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Shed Power Plan


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Do not put the UF in a conduit. Run individual conductors in the conduit.
If I do the entire run in UF from main panel to sub panel as InPhase suggested, I can avoid splices and junction boxes.

Quote:
Like InPhase said, run the conduit underground and under the slab all the way to where the panel will be.
See above. But you're welcome come over and show me the finer points of shovelry.
Quote:
That is if the slab is not already poured.
Not poured yet, which is why I want to get the conduit in place.

Quote:
If its not poured, you can run as many conduits as needed under the slab and stub up for receptacle boxes and switch boxes. Most of your branch circuits. This saves on time and material.
I love to get in there before they pour the slab just for this reason.
In this case, that's not going to be optimal. The shed isn't that big and I'm not sure where things are going to go yet, the time is mine, and I've got plenty of leftover 14-2, 14-3, and 12-2 to use up.
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 03:33 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Shed Power Plan


Once you are to the slab, you don't have to be in the ground any longer. You just need to be under 2" of concrete. Once you reach the edge of the slab, let the pipe ride up out pf the ground and take it anywhere you wish.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 08:52 AM
Wiring a Shed and Garage abedj Electrical 1 05-08-2009 11:09 AM
shed power suggestions rsriverrat Electrical 36 12-29-2008 12:42 PM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 04:51 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.