Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 07:58 PM   #1
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Share |
Default

Shed Meter/Main Panel


I need to submeter my shed for personal reasons. I've picked up a HomeLine SO1020M100S at the box store.

http://ecatalog.squared.com/alphanumeric/itemdetail.cfm?partnumber=SO1020M100S

This is perfect since the meter and the breakers are in a single compact panel, except ... this panel does NOT have a bonding screw. There's only one neutral/ground bar and its not isolated from the case.

Would adding an insulated ground bar (Siemens INSGB20) for use as the neutral bar be acceptable?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:33 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Shed Meter/Main Panel


This panel is suitable ONLY for use as service equipment. Hence the permanent bonding of the neutral to the enclosure.

Your idea to use an isolated ground bar kit for the neutral is intriguing, sort of a back-door way to use it as a sub-panel.

I see no problem with this work-around as the intent of the Code is fulfilled.
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:32 AM   #3
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

Shed Meter/Main Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
This panel is suitable ONLY for use as service equipment. Hence the permanent bonding of the neutral to the enclosure.

Your idea to use an isolated ground bar kit for the neutral is intriguing, sort of a back-door way to use it as a sub-panel.

I see no problem with this work-around as the intent of the Code is fulfilled.
Thanks.
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 11:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Shed Meter/Main Panel


It should work. You will have to bypass the landing lug at the meter and go directly to the isolated neutral bus in the panel section.

Will it pass an inspection? probably not. Will it work? I can't see why not.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.