Severd Wire Help. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 05:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


Hello, When I bought my house the service running from the house to the garage was cut. the wiring in both boxes is complete. Its just missing a 35ft section. It was cut where the cable leaves the house and where it enters the garage. I opened up the panel in the garage and there are two 6AWG and one 8AWG wires all aluminum running into the box. each 6AWG wire runs to a 100amp breaker and the 8AWG runs to what I assume is a grounding bar of some sort. What I want to know is what would be the easiest way to get [power out to my garage. I have been told run all new wire. Also that I could put a J-box where the wire enters the house and just run new wire from there to the garage. I don't really have any idea, I'm just looking for some advice.

Advertisement

ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Severd Wire help.


I would refeed it and so you know 6awg is NOT good for a 100a

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


Yes I know, I was told that 6AWG is only good for 50amp service. I think that is why each 6AWG wire goes to seperate breakers. Also, other than the main breakers there are only 100amps worth of breakers in the box. A 30amp 2x20amp and 2x15amp.
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:04 PM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Severd Wire help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ramick
Yes I know, I was told that 6AWG is only good for 50amp service. I think that is why each 6AWG wire goes to seperate breakers. Also, other than the main breakers there are only 100amps worth of breakers in the box. A 30amp 2x20amp and 2x15amp.
Is the breaker that the wire runs to a double pole 100 or a double pole 50? I just want to make sure we are all on the same page.
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


I will be completely honest I am not sure what you are talking about so here is a picture of the box in the garage.

ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Severd Wire help.


I cant see the pic
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


cant see it at all or to small to see.
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Severd Wire help.


Its just a grey box in my screen can you see it?
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:45 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Severd Wire help.


Since current code requires a four wire feed you need to run a new cable or conduit from the start.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:50 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


I can see the picture but it is small I will try to re post it. If i do run new wires all the way can i just hook up the new wires like the old ones are? Or do I need to do it in a specific order.
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:05 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


lets try this.
Attached Images
 
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:12 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


lets try this.
Attached Thumbnails
Severd Wire help.-box.jpg  
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:25 PM   #13
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Severd Wire help.


I cant see what the breaker size is but you have a multitude of issues there. My suggestion is refeed from main panel and install new sub panel in garage
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:29 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Severd Wire help.


why would I need to install a new sub panel? I cant just run new wire and hook it up the existing panel.
ramick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:36 PM   #15
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Severd Wire help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ramick
why would I need to install a new sub panel? I cant just run new wire and hook it up the existing panel.
You can leave it but just make sure all of your breakers match the manufacturer. Right now it appears that you have mixed breakers.

Advertisement

Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 03:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts