Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-07-2009, 03:23 PM   #1

Share |

Service wire thru attic

Hello all. Thankfully I just found this site and have an issue needing expert advice on. I've a shop sitting 45' behind my house. I've had two electricials come look at running service to it. One has ran service wire through attics (my preference) several times and the other says it cannot be done legally.
I'm no electrician by trade but DO know my way around having done industrial maintenence for 30 + years and home wiring for myself for a long time.
I've done a lot of searching on the net and saw nowhere that running service wire thru an attic is illegal EXCEPT in the case of say a condo/townhouse where you cannot breech a fire barrier.
I live in western Tennessee where attic temp is typically 135/140F.
The building will have a 100amp panel and what I want to do is run a service wire through the house attic from end/end (conduit up into, conduit down out of) to a disconnect then underground via conduit to the building.
I'm not very familar with wire ratings/terminology when it comes to a case like this.
That said, what wire is best suited and legally/safely correct for attic use? I prefer copper but am open to aluminum.
From researching I've found using copper it should be 2/0 THHN or 2/0 THWN? What size conduit, 2"?
Thanks greatly in advance!!!

Poot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 04:26 PM   #2

Service wire thru attic

1 1/2" or 2" conduit with three #2 thwn copper and a #6 ground.

Thru the attic is fine. It's not really service wire, they are feeders.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 08:11 PM   #3

Service wire thru attic

Unfused service wires must be as short as possible inside the house. Usually less than 5 feet. However these are not service wires. These are feeder wires protected by a breaker in the main panel.