Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2010, 05:20 AM   #1
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

Service Upgrade Options


My 200A service is pretty well maxed out, according to my load calculations. All appliances are electric in my 3300 SF house. I am adding a 100A subpanel in my garage and would like to avoid main breaker trips when working in the garage so I am considering a service upgrade. My POCO will provide a 400A meter base that I would need to install and have inspected before they will energize it.

Could I install a second 200A main distribution panel right next to the existing one and have both panels connected to the 400A meter base? This would mean having two separate service entrances for the house, both connected to the meter base. The idea is to avoid having to rewire the existing 40+ circuits into a new 400A main panel and instead just add a 200A main panel where I could connect the subpanel feeder.

Or does anyone have another idea altogether?

H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 06:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

Service Upgrade Options


400A panels are available, but only allow 42 ckts. Adding a second 200A panel adds ckts capacity. But check local code.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:37 AM   #3
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Default

Service Upgrade Options


Does a 400A meter base have provisions for connecting two 200A SE cables? Does having two adjacent 200A main distribution panels in my house meet current NEC code?
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:08 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Service Upgrade Options


All the 320/400A meter bases I have seen have double lugs on the load side so you can feed two 200A or one 200A and one 100A panel. If you opt for a 400A panel, be ready to open the wallet very wide.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:26 AM   #5
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Default

Service Upgrade Options


No 400A panel in my future. The garage wiring project has already flattened my wallet.
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 08:48 AM
150amp to 200amp service upgrade... theatretch85 Electrical 30 07-06-2009 05:02 PM
service upgrade work4six-s Electrical 3 07-06-2009 11:07 AM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.