Service Upgrade Needed ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 09:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service upgrade needed ?


hello, i'm wondering if i am in need of a service upgrade. i recently bought a house, in NYC and i knew walking in that the electrical panel was a little dated. i was ok with that cause i've worked for three years with IbEW local #3 in ny, and i figured that i can change the panel on my own but. My Problem is that due to the fact that the house is in need of an upgrade, there is a shortage of outlets in every room. and last night the cable guy plugged in a hilti rotory drill in the an outlet and everytime he used it i noticed that my lights would dim. i'm wondering if this an indication of a service upgrade or a load reduction of my circuit panel.

Advertisement

37victor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 10:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

service upgrade needed ?


Rotary hammers pull current and can dim lights. Some vacuum cleaners trip 15 amp breakers too. If that's the only indication along with the lack of receptacles, I see no issues. I would check with the city about installing the new service or panel. I understand NY can be rough on stuff like this. Good luck.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 11:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service upgrade needed ?


sounds good, thanks for the heads up.
37victor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading to 200 amp service Vikeologist Electrical 10 12-20-2009 07:38 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 06:42 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
Service Upgrade Cost $$ jamiedolan Electrical 19 09-09-2008 02:23 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts