Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 02:14 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Although I will likely go for a sub panel to wire in my new circuits, I decided it was only fair to look into what it would cost for an upgrade to a 200 A panel.
I was quoted $1,250 with permit costs, to replace for 100 A pushmatic with a 40 position 200A Square D QO. That would be for the entire project done by licensed personal.
Then I would wire my new projects off that box instead of of the sub panel.
Any thoughts on that price or on the Square D Qo load center?
Thanks
Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 02:20 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Way, WAY too low for a 200A upgrade with QO equipment IMO. I'd be suspicious.

Depending on conditions I'd easily be in the $2200 range.

QO is considered by many as top of the line.

Is this by a legit contractor, or a side job dude with a license?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 02:26 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Way, WAY too low for a 200A upgrade with QO equipment IMO. I'd be suspicious.

Depending on conditions I'd easily be in the $2200 range.

QO is considered by many as top of the line.

Is this by a legit contractor, or a side job dude with a license?
Liceansed, & Insured, with Phone Book ad, Full time Electrician.

I have not called anyone else, but it sounded like a pretty reasonable price to me also.

He said he would include changing the mast and the box outside, and deal with the power company and the inspector, and it would take most of the day to complete.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 03:05 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Well if you can get all that in writing on a work invoice... that is going to be hard to beat IMO. I'm not real sure how he will get that product list installed for under $1300. You might ask him (if not offended) could he give references for you to call? If he seems offended I'd be very suspicious that he may not intend to do all he says. Or maybe he just loves this stuff and works for free labor....

Square d Qo is among the best panels you can have installed in a residence.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 03:22 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
He said he would include changing the mast .......
And it's a mast service on top of it all???

Raise my price by about $200.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 05:49 PM   #6
What can I find here?
 
Winchester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 188
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


IIRC, we had the upgrade (200 amp) done to our old house for around $1700 and that was for a GE panel. That was just for the electrician and not the work we had provided by the POCO.

I'm sure geography comes into play with these quotes as well. Helps when the old guy is a friend of your father-in-law but not great if paying by the hour. Up and down our stairs did him in by the end of the day.
Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 06:36 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
I have not called anyone else, but it sounded like a pretty reasonable price to me also.
That is not a reasonable price, it is WAY TO LOW!

Any "electrician" that gives a price that low for a service change like this should bring up a major red flag. This job should be more in the $2500.00 range. There is a reason this guy is doing it so cheap, either he his not going to do everything he said he was, he's going to do it illegally ( no permits, inspections, etc.), or cut corners somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and get a couple more bids and make a more informed decision.
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 07:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


We charge double that.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:30 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Agreed, price way to low...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:31 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post

Square d Qo is among the best panels you can have installed in a residence.
Not to hijack the thread, but where is the proof that this is true vs an opinion?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:35 PM   #11
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


[quote]
QO is considered by many as top of the line.
[quote]

Not to change the subject but why do many feel that way about the QO? The box, breakers or what exactly?

I was just at my local HD looking over the 200a 40/40's and saw the QO at $210 and the Siemens (which appears to have the neutral/ground bars laid out better) at $150.

Just curious for when I change mine...
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?

Last edited by handyman78; 09-05-2008 at 08:38 PM.
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:38 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman78 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
QO is considered by many as top of the line.
Not to change the subject but why do many feel that way about the QO? The box, breakers or what exactly?

I was just at my local HD looking over the 200a 40/40's and saw the QO at $210 and the Siemens (which appears to have the neutral/ground bars laid out better) at $150.

Just curious for when I change mine...
Its beyond me why people feel QO is better than any other brand, I use GE, so I think they ROCK!, and I know for a fact that the only reason people like any product is because thats what their supplier carries.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:49 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


For the record I hate QO panels. I also don't feel the breakers are any better than any other major brand. That is why I wrote "...considered by many..."
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 09:17 PM   #14
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,559
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


I do a lot of comm'l/industrial, I like Square D for several reasons. First, most panels I work with use bolt-on breakers, Sq. D is the only one that will accept both bolt-on and push-in breakers, though I very rarely ever use push-ins in these panels.

Secondly, the QO and QOB (bolt-on) breakers are available in HM (high magnetic) versions. These seem to handle a motor start surge better than any others, but still trip quickly under a short circuit.

Thirdly, I do a lot of traffic signals, the control cabinets usually have a 40 to 60 amp single pole breaker in them for a main. I've only seen 60 amp in Sq. D. There may be others, but that's what I've seen. In a knockdown, a 40 will sometimes trip, a 60 will usually hold. If the main trips, the whole signal is dark, usually including streetlights. If it doesn't trip, the loadswitches for the downed pole will burn up, and send the rest of the signal into flashing red. Much safer.

4TH, They are the only ones I know of that are legal to put 2 wires under the same breaker. I know, it's an extremely poor practice, but sometimes there's just no other practical choice.

I can't say I've seen them burn up any more often than any other, either bolt-on or push-in.

Again, just a personal preference, and most of this doesn't apply to residential anyway.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 10:22 PM   #15
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Service Upgrade Cost $$


IMO...I like Sq D QO panels. I think they are more 'rugged' than some others, but they are more pricey. I personally like to use Siemans. Well built, durable, laid out nice, not overly pricey, breakers are readily available (at least in my area), and the breakers are listed for use in some older panels by other manufacturers (less stock for me to carry).

SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Upgrade Service Panel - Do I need a new meter? El Kati Electrical 6 08-11-2008 07:35 PM
Cost to run electric service to home 500 feet away skinnersone Electrical 2 08-26-2007 04:07 PM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.