Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2011, 09:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service upgrade


what rooms need arc fault breakers in brookhaven township?

joe leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:55 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

service upgrade


There are MANY "Brookhavens" in numerous states. I'm afraid we need a wee bit more info.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 10:04 AM   #3
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

service upgrade


As more and more states adopt the NEC (National Electrical Code) in dwelling units all but the bathroom and kitchen need arc fault protection. This under Art 210.12 of the NEC.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:05 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
There are MANY "Brookhavens" in numerous states.
Come on DM, didn;t you know Joe's was the only one.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:07 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by joe leo View Post
what rooms need arc fault breakers in brookhaven township?
Very few areas require the upgrade to arcfautls with a service change.

If this is Brookhaven, NY then you do NOT need them.

http://www.handymanwire.com/ubbthrea...&Number=925264
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (04-23-2011)
Old 04-23-2011, 08:36 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

service upgrade


Always the helpful one you are. In my home I only had to put AFCIs in the three bedrooms. (Michigan)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:42 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

service upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
In my home I only had to put AFCIs in the three bedrooms. (Michigan)
OK, but was that for a service change/upgrade?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:53 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

service upgrade


That's debatable. Kind of both? I sort of "expanded" this place. I stick built walls around a trailer, then last summer, removed the trailer and installed floor joists, 3/4 ply etc, section by section. Then framed in all new walls, bath and a half, kitchen, drywall, mud, paint, 5/8" fire-x ceilings, etc. Both 'new' bedrooms got new wire, only our bedroom stayed. So pretty much 80% of the house I rewired. One more fixture in the back bedroom walk-in closet and I can call him to final inspect. *yay me!*

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 09:29 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

service upgrade


Ahhhh, yeah, that is a bit more than a service upgrade.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steps to performing a service upgrade jerseyguy1996 Electrical 21 12-31-2010 01:38 PM
Help planning service upgrade FremontJoe Electrical 2 12-07-2010 03:02 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
150amp to 200amp service upgrade... theatretch85 Electrical 30 07-06-2009 05:02 PM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.