Service Panel-Transfer Switch Distance - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2012, 08:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Service Panel-Transfer Switch Distance


Im installing a SQ D (QO) 200a service panel (new construction/ basement) along with a Generac 70a E-Z prewired Transfer Sw (8Kw gen).

Q: The transfer sw comes with 30" of watertight 1.5" conduit (for connection to 70a breaker is service panel). I need the panels closer together; more like 6" apart. I would like to cut this conduit down to 6" then feed the wire back through and mount.

Is there a min distance that the panels need to be apart? I have the required 30-36-6 working space for the service panel and the door for it swings opposite the transfer sw (which has no door). Reason i ask is that i found it peculiar that the conduit was 30" and thought maybe this is for working space requirement (even then it would only need 15"). Anyway- I didnt think that applied to other electrical components and panels; only other stuff.

Advertisement

usmc124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 09:02 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Service Panel-Transfer Switch Distance


You can shorten them as much as you need.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 09:32 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Service Panel-Transfer Switch Distance


Thanks for the "boost"
usmc124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 09:53 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Service Panel-Transfer Switch Distance


Yeah, for some reason they seem to think every transfer panel install requires the same distance flex.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service panel , transfer switch , working space


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground WillK Electrical 3 06-17-2011 09:18 AM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 01:36 AM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 08:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts