Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2014, 09:39 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Share |
Default

Service Panel Second In Line?


BTW, I'm not sure power theft is the only reason. One other possibility is that the Meter can be pulled out in order to disconnect all service to the building.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 10:06 AM   #32
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Service Panel Second In Line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrantiii View Post
Well, at least it looks like I got something interesting going. I thought service panel meant meter? And breaker box was non metered? Like most of life's problems, usually comes down to semantics and in this case looks like I was mistaken.

And, yes, we have feed through lugs here in our service - I mean meter box. But, as I understand it, its all moot as bottom line is nothing can come before the meter box - because of possibility of power theft. Correct?

Attached is a brief visual. Mom just closed on the place this AM and I haven't gotten any details yet. These were taken from Zillow. It will be a month or two before we start the addition - I'll give you all an update then.
Yeah that is really the whole issue is semantics..use of terms...anyway I think maybe we all made too big of a deal out of it. My earlier comment should have been addressing the semantics to get clarification instead of being so blunt .. so my apologies.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:14 PM   #33
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,936
Default

Service Panel Second In Line?


If the meter is on the front corner of the existing house and the addition is set back far enough to clear it, you may have to do nothing.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade asledge Electrical 38 12-12-2012 11:57 PM
Need help installing new service and making old service a sub panel fightermage Electrical 9 09-26-2012 08:48 PM
200 amp panel w/100 amp service PirateKatz Electrical 8 12-26-2009 03:42 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
I need help with my service panel DIYScott Electrical 5 09-18-2007 02:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.