Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 08:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Service Panel Question


Hello,
I have an old screw in fuss panel that I want to update to a circuit breaker panel. The sheet on the panel door said it is 100 amps serivice but the main pull out fuss has 2 60 amps fusses. The wire comming from the pole all the way to the fuss panel is #3 wire which is for 100 amps. Is it ok to get a panel with a 100 amp main breaker?
Thanks
Matt

matta25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

Service Panel Question


Post a picture of the panel.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Service Panel Question


Here is the picture of the panel door:

Service Panel Question-photo.jpg
matta25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:40 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Service Panel Question


This is the photo of the panel:

Service Panel Question-img_0646.jpg
matta25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:04 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Service Panel Question


If it's #3 copper, you'll need to go to 100 amps.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:06 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Service Panel Question


The code lists #3 @ 110 amps AND they list it in 240.6 as a "standard breaker" but I've never seen one
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:12 AM   #7
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 501
Default

Service Panel Question


Don't do like me and melt the wires from the pole to the house.

100 amp wires in the mast but smaller wires coming from the pole.
POCO changed the wires for no cost. The guy said they should have been larger.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:21 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Service Panel Question


Just googled it and they do make them. Still have never actually seen one.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:32 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Service Panel Question


Thank you guys for the help. I had a tree cut down last year and when they were cutting it, it fell and hit the wire comming rom the pole and ripped my mask and meter base from the house. They put a new box meter base in (the old one was round) and in know the wire is #3 copper all the way to the pole to the panel.

matta25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
changing to 200 amp service mbaldwin Electrical 3 03-29-2012 08:00 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Moving service panel away from main service line entry k2000lbs Electrical 3 11-28-2011 08:39 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.