Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
dpkann1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Carolina USA.
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

service panel


I have a 100 amp service panel and i am trying to find out if i can install a 100 amp breaker in the exsisting 100 amp panel to suppy another mlo panel(sub). I can't find any thing in the nec. I guess i really need to do a load calculation first of all i want to put on it to see if the initial 100 amp service will be able to handle the circuits being added. Enlighten me on this.

dpkann1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:05 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

service panel


A load calc would be appropriate, but there is nothing in the NEC prohibiting what you would like to do.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013), plummen (10-30-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 04:45 AM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

service panel


If the load calcs work out, check if the panel you have will accept a feed through lug kit.

Otherwise, check the stab rating on the panel. I doubt it's rated for more than an 80A breaker.

Another option is to use taps. Post some detailed pictures of the existing panel's internals. And one picture of the whole wall. Let's take a look.

BTW, do you know the load calc formula?

Last edited by Glennsparky; 10-13-2013 at 04:47 AM.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Glennsparky For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013), plummen (10-30-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 04:57 AM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

service panel


This is not the official load calc formula. But it's a quick and dirty calculator to get you in the ballpark. For amperage, take the answer in watts and divide by 240.

http://www.generatorsales.com/wattage-calculator.asp
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Glennsparky For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 08:10 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
This is not the official load calc formula. But it's a quick and dirty calculator to get you in the ballpark. For amperage, take the answer in watts and divide by 240.

http://www.generatorsales.com/wattage-calculator.asp
So you are saying to take all the items on the panel, add up the wattage and divide by 240V?
Even for a "down and dirty number", that's not how a load calculation works.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 10:01 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,334
Rewards Points: 666
Default

service panel


Sorry,we can only take off 80% of the main rating.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 10:20 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
So you are saying to take all the items on the panel, add up the wattage and divide by 240V?
Even for a "down and dirty number", that's not how a load calculation works.
You're right. Thanks for catching that, Speedy Petey. That was a lousy answer, I'll try to make amends.

Either of these will give an approximation for a house main panel.

http://www.constructionmonkey.com/ca...lOptional.aspx

http://www.nojolt.com/load_calculations.shtml

I trust this one the most. But it took me some time, and trial and error, to get every field to accept the correct input.

http://www.docstoc.com/docs/97696973...lt-Enterprises

As for the generator calc from my previous post, it would be ok for a quick and dirty ballpark on a sub panel or feeder panel, only. Not a main or service panel.

Last edited by Glennsparky; 10-13-2013 at 10:24 AM.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Glennsparky For This Useful Post:
dpkann1 (10-13-2013)
Old 10-13-2013, 11:23 AM   #8
Newbie
 
dpkann1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Carolina USA.
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Sorry,we can only take off 80% of the main rating.

So bob you are saying that we are only allowed to take 80% of the service to another panel for more space and /or more circuits. so i could only take off 80amps to another panel? I think my best thing would be to upgrade my service because i am looking at installing an electrical heating service as back up. I have been told my service would have to be upgraded to do so but i have no idea what a system such as a heat pump would pull. I do know at best with what i have now i never pull 60 amps on the current service. I put this to the test to see with a electrician friend and with more than what we would ever pull at a given time together it was under the 60 amps.
I have learned in school on how to do a load calculation and have found a site with a calculator that seems to work well after inputting the info. Thanks to you all on your replies. taking the experience of pros in the field help me to understand more of what i am looking at.
dpkann1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:26 AM   #9
Newbie
 
dpkann1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Carolina USA.
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service panel


Glennsparky i like the site http://www.nojolt.com/load_calculations.shtml
I have tested it with some random numbers and it seems to work well. I will have to check out the other ones as well.
dpkann1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,334
Rewards Points: 666
Default

service panel


Dpkaan, that's all my inspector would allow.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,334
Rewards Points: 666
Default

service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Dpkaan, that's all my inspector would allow.
Dpkaan1, that's all my inspector will allow.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 02:41 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

service panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Dpkaan, that's all my inspector would allow.
And what code does he cite to back this up?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
main breaker panel, service, sub panel


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of upgrading my electric panel from 60 amp service to 200 amp service. rdhanley0514 Electrical 5 08-23-2013 09:32 PM
Questions about 100-200A service upgrade kwilcox Electrical 35 04-22-2012 06:15 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
200 amp panel w/100 amp service PirateKatz Electrical 8 12-26-2009 04:42 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 11:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.