Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 04:16 PM   #1
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground


Apparently the inspector is taking tommorrow and Monday off, so I'm fully ready for inspection and waiting until Tuesday. I figured I'd move the dryer circuit to the new panel while waiting, and noticed something else I need to do.

My project for those not following the saga is that I have a permit pulled to upgrade from 100A service to 200A service and move the service entrance. I have a new 200A panel I installed on a previous permit as a subpanel which will become the main panel. Gradually the plan is to get circuits upgraded and moved to the 200A panel until the old 100A panel doesn't have any live circuits, but for now the 100A panel will act as a subpanel to the 200A panel.

So it occurred to me to check, and sure enough, there isn't a seperate ground bar so the neutral bar also has grounds in it.

It's straightforward enough, but it's a nearly full 100A panel. I counted 6 ground wires on one side and 4 on the other. Seems like there should be more, those numbers include the wire to the ground rod.

So I don't know if I have a specific question, but I'm attaching pictures of the neutral bars on both sides... I guess I'm curious if I'm missing something.

I'll be shutting off the panel, adding a ground bar on both sides and moving ground wires while the kids are away this evening for vacation bible school and the wife is at an exercise class.

The bonding screw will remain in place for now, but anything I might need to know in terms of if there is anything I need to be aware of that isn't obvious would be appreciated. Or if there's anything visible in the photos that needs to be corrected.
Attached Thumbnails
Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground-100a-panel-neutral-ground-lh.jpg   Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground-100a-panel-neutral-ground-rh.jpg  
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 06:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 434
Default

Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground


two ways to do it!!!ONE remove green bond screw and remove the connector bar accross top between bot neutral busses.thenjust run a bond wire or a you can get a bonding term that goes under a screw on ground bar and to box.then move all grounds to left side buss bar.or leave as is and remove green ground screw and add a ground bar to box at screw holes in top pic on left side.move service ground wire(the one with the service wires)and connect it to new ground buss along with all ground wires.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:25 PM   #3
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground


I basicly did the second option, added a ground bar on both sides. As this is still the main panel until next Tuesday at least, I'm keeping the green bonding screw installed, but now when the main panel changes the screw comes out and I have nothing further to do.

That's the easy part. The unknown comes into play because I don't know if there's anything else in this panel that could become an issue. I didn't do most of what is in here. there is an AFCI circuit I had put in for hardwired interconnected smoke detectors. There was a 30A double pole circuit for the dryer, but I moved that to the new panel. And there's the 60A breaker for the new panel while it is used as a sub. Everything else is work done before we bought the house.

Being that it was done without a permit as far as I can tell, I don't know that it is free of code violations and I don't know that any of those code violations might have to be corrected by me as part of the permit which is otherwise unrelated... What complicates it more is that I don't know when the work was done, and what happens if EI decides it should be done to current code... It's mostly 15A circuits, the bathroom has GFCI but none of the old wiring is AFCI. And I am unfamiliar with the multiwire circuits, whoever installed this panel seems to be a big fan of 14-3 wire.
Attached Thumbnails
Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground-100a-panel-neutral-ground-lh-seperated.jpg   Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground-100a-panel-neutral-ground-rh-seperated.jpg   Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground-100a-panel-bottom.jpg  
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:18 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,505
Default

Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground


A normal inspector would not make you upgrade everything to current codes... if you are not changing the branch circuits that now require AFCI, then you don't need to add the AFCI. But given your experience with this inspector, I would say you need to be prepared for anything.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 03:15 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.