Service Line From House To Garage.... Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 09:12 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Thanks again InPhase!! I think I've got it all fleshed out then. You and the others have been terrific help and a great resource for me. Thanks again.

I feel much more confident now in completing the job.... Have a great week!


Advertisement

Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:02 PM   #17
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
Thanks Jamie....

I'd prefer copper, and that's what I think I'll go with... but pricing out a few places - it came to $1200 roughly for 135 foot of #2 X 3 wires (not including the ground wire - are the ground wires cheaper ?)

But I haven't checked Home Depot yet.

If I can get it for the price you stated - I'm all over that!!

Aluminum is very tempting.... but I know you have to use a thicker wire to get the same benefits as a thinner copper....

Thanks for your input.
The $1.78 per foot for #2 THHN was the price they gave me yesterday when I called to check on some wire prices. Normally #6 is the largest you run for ground, and I belive you can run #8, so yes, it would be a bit cheaper than the other feeder lines. Based on the prices home depot told me yesterday, you should not be much over right about 700, even with the ground wire. Unless my calculations were way off... It sounds like the price you were quoted for wire was much higher than the price my local home depot gave yesterday.

Good Luck
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:24 AM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,217
Rewards Points: 2,404
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


If your shopping home depot you might wan to check out the price on al mobile home feeder in #2. It will be 2-2-2-4 and is USE-2 direct burial or conduit. As Chris said it will be protected by a 90 amp breaker as per code for a sub-panel. Looks like this...
Attached Thumbnails
Service line from house to garage.... question-mobile-home-feeder.jpg  
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:29 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Thanks guys! I will check both out today!! Hope to get this hooked-up and completed shortly. Be nice to finally get power out there...!! I attached a picture in case you didn't see the project from "my pictures." Just for your visual info.
Attached Thumbnails
Service line from house to garage.... question-garage-house-003.jpg  
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:20 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Plant City Florida
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Quote:
I'd prefer copper, and that's what I think I'll go with... but pricing out a few places - it came to $1200 roughly for 135 foot of #2 X 3 wires (not including the ground wire - are the ground wires cheaper ?)
I just purchesed 450 feet of 1/0 THWN from a local electrical supply house and it was just $697.00
Rbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:34 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


I guess I lied....LOL.... I do have just a few more questions...

  1. What kind of terminal connector/block/device do I need just inside the house to connect the incoming #2 THHN wire to the #2 SE wire which will run from that point to my house' electrical panel?
  2. Considering that I will be using #2 SE copper wire to go from just inside the house to the house's panel.... what kind of "connector" do I need (ala romex connector?) to secure the #2 SE cable/wire as it enters a knockout in my house's panel??
  3. Are the knockouts in the typical 150 amp panel large enough to accomodate #2 Se cable/wire coming into it?
  4. Also - what's the difference between #2 and #2/0 wire? Just curious.
Any advice you can give me regarding the connection of the #2 THHN wire coming from the outside garage to the #2 SE cable just inside the house, and connecting that securely to my 150 amp panel would be very appreciated.

Thanks again guys...
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:29 PM   #22
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


I do believe a 1-1/4" "romex" connector will be OK for #2 SER. As for the connection between inside and out, I prefer to use "polaris taps" from NSI Industries, or similar. They are available at any electrical supply house.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:00 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


InPhase -

Thanks for the reply -

I looked up the Polaris Taps on the web... makes sense... but, don't they have to be encased in some sort of enclosure?

Probably a dumb question by me....
Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:11 PM   #24
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd-sta View Post
InPhase -

Thanks for the reply -

I looked up the Polaris Taps on the web... makes sense... but, don't they have to be encased in some sort of enclosure?

Probably a dumb question by me....
Yes. While you're at Home Depot, pick up a PVC junction box. They are near all the PVC stuff. Get a 6 x 6 x 4, or 8 x 8 x 4, or whatever they may have that is large enough.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:23 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service line from house to garage.... question


Great - I'll do it. Thanks again InPhase!!

Advertisement

Todd-sta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
New House and Shop Building Service Rbeard Electrical 9 11-07-2008 04:19 PM
Next Question, Sub panel in detached garage... OmegaBunny Electrical 5 09-16-2008 12:37 AM
Sub feed house from new garage JAYRAN Electrical 10 10-02-2007 07:08 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts