Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 11:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Service Entry Cable


I built a workshop a couple of years ago but I did not wire it at that time. I don't spend a lot of time out there but I do want to put in a couple of lights and a small heat and air unit. I am wiring my workshop with a 50A service. I need to run around 120 feet of service entry cable and I need to know if #6 copper Direct Burried cable will suffice.

I do plan on running a 220v 50A service with #6/3 w gnd. I have a GFI 50A service disconnect already installed.


Last edited by armyguy; 12-28-2010 at 12:41 PM.
armyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:11 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Service Entry Cable


this is a little short on information. How ever #6 copper is fine for 65amps(75deg).

you will need a ground rod, disconnect/6handles, service calc, 4wire

Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
armyguy (12-28-2010)
Old 12-28-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Service Entry Cable


copy from duplicate thread. Service Entry Cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by armyguy View Post
I am wiring my workshop with a 220V/50A service. I need to run around 120 feet of service entry cable in total from my meter base to the workshop.

I already have a 220v/50A disconnect and about 40 feet of 6/3 running from my meter base to my deck which would get me within 80 feet of the workshop.

I need to know#6 Direct Burried cable will suffice. I plan on splicing the additional 80 feet between my deck and the workshop to the existing circuit that is terminated at my deck.

I will install an earth ground rod at the workshop.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:23 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Service Entry Cable


what is your skill level? Is the existing circuit 4wire? romex? how are you going to splice this?

on a side note most backyard locations would require direct bury cable to be 24in deep
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Service Entry Cable


I'm not an electrician but I have 40 years experience as an electronics tecnician working with radar systems and on several occasions I have run power to my systems typically from genertors, but thats it for my skill level.

The existing circuit is 4 wire UF-B cable in conduit, and since it was for a hot tub its a GFI circuit.

I will use an additional 50A disconnect box for my splice since already have one on hand and the additional 80' of cable will be buried at 24" in schedule 80 conduit IAW local code the same as my existing circuit.

Thanks for the help and I will have an electrician check it out before I have it inspected
armyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Service Entry Cable


Sounds like it'll work. A couple of points:

You don't need to put underground cable in pipe, but you are allowed. (It does need to usually be in pipe down to the 24" depth, though.) If you use pipe, and have it all enclosed from box to box, just use loose wire, it's cheaper. You can even use the same color as long as you mark it properly (white electric tape for the neutral at both ends, for instance.)

The 24" is to the top of the pipe / cable, so make sure it's a 26" or so trench.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 07:44 AM   #7
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Service Entry Cable


also your disconnect must be on the outbuilding. remember to keep your ground separate in subpanel.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:04 AM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Service Entry Cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPraski View Post
...If you use pipe, and have it all enclosed from box to box, just use loose wire, it's cheaper. You can even use the same color as long as you mark it properly (white electric tape for the neutral at both ends, for instance.)...
Not if it's 6 gauge. Wire in pipe has to be 4 ga or larger before you can re-mark it, per NEC.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
Saturday Cowboy (01-08-2011)
Old 12-29-2010, 09:59 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Service Entry Cable


D'oh! Thanks for that catch. Now I gotta go find that rule...
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:46 AM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Service Entry Cable


Grounded conductor 200.6 Equipment grounding conductor 250.119. See also 310.12 (which refers to those two sections)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 03:34 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Service Entry Cable


Thanks to all

armyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical box service cable jonnysnax2 Flooring 6 08-05-2010 12:51 PM
Proper cable entry into breaker panel tns1 Electrical 12 08-26-2009 11:25 PM
Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split apriest Electrical 19 07-23-2009 08:33 PM
Vinyl siding / electrical service entry SAGENT Building & Construction 3 06-04-2009 06:31 AM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.