Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 09:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Service entrance wiring


Hello all.

I mounted and meter socket with the main disconnect on it and am now ready to connect the wires. I have attached a diagram below.






My question is, it is ok that one of the hot wires is bent up and comes into the lug from the top and the other comes in from the bottom (so to speak).

I just canít get that second wire to make the needed bend in the small amount of space in the panel to get it to come from the to as well . Is there a trick to bending that stuff into a tight spot?


Thanks,
Hunter
hunterthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Service entrance wiring


How tight is the needed bend. Panels are built today to give you plenty room for the wires. Meter cans can be tight. What size wire are you working with. Where the wires enter the enclosure has much to do with how they land on the lugs. You may just need a little persuasion.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 12:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Service entrance wiring


When I did my panel replacement, I upgraded the old wires from the meter socket to the panel (about 4-5' total length). The thing I found most helpful in bending the wire in a small space, is to use a pipe and slide it over the end of the wire to give you more leverage. This was especially helpful working in the meter socket where space was limited, the panel was a lot easier with plenty of space to bend the wires.

If you are using aluminum, don't forget the anti-oxidant compound!
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 01:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Service entrance wiring


To the OP, I hope you're wearing your level 2 arc-flash gear.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-19-2009 at 02:11 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 02:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Service entrance wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I hope you're wearing your level 2 arc-flash gear.
If this was directed to me, I had the POCO disconnect the power at the pedestal outside the transformer in the front yard, so all power to the meter socket was disconnected when I did my hook-up. I knew before hand that I wanted to (needed to) replace the wire between the meter socket and the main panel.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:35 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Service entrance wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
To the OP, I hope you're wearing your level 2 arc-flash gear.
It is new service, not yet hooked up at the pole.

I have linked in pictures of the box as it is today.

I am having a lot trouble getting the one of the left up and then bent back to go in the lug form the top.

it is 4/0 aluminum wire.

I appreciate any input. Thank you.

http://img67.imageshack.us/img67/4136/hpim1723.jpg
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/4407/hpim1726d.jpg
hunterthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Service entrance wiring


Honestly I wouldn't even worry about it, it looks fine just like it is now. I think you'd be putting too much effort into having the wire enter the lug from the top corner and it wouldn't gain you anything. I have not worked with this meter/disconnect combo before but I'd say it looks like you have it hooked up as it intended to be wired.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewire 200A service entrance OffRoadAudio Electrical 4 08-24-2009 02:27 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
Service entrance dcwestcott Electrical 3 03-09-2009 06:11 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.