Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 05:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Service Entrance Wire Question


I purchased a lot in SW Missouri (Cedar Co.)- the meter will be on a pole at the front of the lot. I would like to build to the back, about 600' from the meter. So with that in mind -
  • would like to bury cable to supply house
  • will trench
  • will have 200 AMP Service at meter.
1. Would like to Direct Bury (no conduit)
2. What type/Size of wire should I use to create this run?
3. Will go from meter to a Main box in a pump Shed
4. Understand from reading here - that 4 wires must be used? Not sure how to connect the ground, as it would parallel the Neutral - not sure why that would be required...
5. Is my plan sound for this application? Cannot find appropriate charts to give me acceptable length for this application... thinking I will need a 4/0 setup, but can't confirm. Initial load will be several campers - 30 Amp each - but plan on retirement house in 5 yr.

Any help would be appreciated.!

ricprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 08:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Service Entrance Wire Question


750mmca...it's quite heavy. Can you have the power company add a pole (or 2) and move the meter closer to the building site?

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 09:15 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Post

Service Entrance Wire Question


Thanks for replying ! I do not know what chart you looked at or how you got that answer - can you direct me to that information?

About the pole - I can - however - aesthetics say no.
ricprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 09:42 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

Service Entrance Wire Question


You must account for a substantial voltage drop for a run of 600'. The wire size should be increased accordingly. I come up with 2 paralled 600 kcmil per conductor(6 conductors for 240 volt single phase) for a 3% voltage drop.

Last edited by brric; 06-16-2011 at 09:49 AM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Service Entrance Wire Question


if estthetics are issue , electric company with run service underground. but they charge more for that. i also live in central mo. crawford electric is my power comapany & they wanted 5-6 grand fpr underground service.

hope this helps

now youe pain im trying to get power to pond a 1000 ft away without having to look at the poles

good luck
jshepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service entry question


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about service entrance maple_john Electrical 20 04-02-2011 02:22 PM
Important Wire Nut and Electrical Tape Question Wolfies167 Electrical 22 01-06-2010 12:59 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
2 wire service and laptop computers gregdonovan Electrical 9 06-11-2009 12:42 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 05:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.