Service Entrance - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 12:38 PM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10

Service entrance

I'm upgrading my older cabin, and I have a question on the service entrance. The Power company says I have a 30 amp single phase service. When I open my main breaker box I see a 100 amp breaker. This is weird!

What I'm afraid of is that the wiring from the meter up to the power company connection is sub standard. Is there a standard cable or wire size that must be used for the service entrance?

I can get the power company to come out and disconnect me for a day while this is done, but I want to be sure I'm putting in the right wires!

Any special tricks/requirements for the power company connection?



dcwestcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Res Ipsa Loquitur
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250

Service entrance

Not an electrician but hard to say- in my residential area (most of the time!) Power company supplies wiring to the building in an aerial installation- homeowner is responsible for wiring from there (roofline) down to the meter and within home. Also in my area, underground installations for a residence the poco runs feeders connections and is responsible up to the meter. Homeowner is responsible from meter inward.

If wiring is substandard to the meter the poco should be called for evaluation and potential replacement. No residential building today should be wired with <100A, absolute minimum. Does this cabin have comfort conveniences? Are you expecting to use/install some? Do an assessment for what is used here electrically to determine what you might need in your service, it should then be wired accordingly.


Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?

Last edited by handyman78; 03-09-2009 at 03:59 PM.
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 04:22 PM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10

Service entrance

This is a summer cabin, That may get used a little in the winter. So no air condition, just thestandard appliences.

I will do a power survey of useage in the cabin. Good Idea. Thanks
dcwestcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:11 PM   #4
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75

Service entrance

i've seen 4 plexes have a drop size of #6 aluminum!....they have different standards as far as wire size
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Service entrance ground size ? banks10 Electrical 4 12-18-2008 05:20 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
no disconnecting means at the electrical service entrance Denhamjw Electrical 34 06-30-2008 07:36 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts