Service Disconnect Location - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 10:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Rural (farm) location. The current service disconnect resides immediately below the meter box on a pole. It is the plan to upgrade the service capacity to 125 amps.

Must the service disconnect reside immediately after (below) the meter?

Advertisement

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Service disconnect location


It can be put on the house/shed/or what ever you are powering.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


From the existing service disconnect on the pole, overhead feeders go to a house, a barn, and a well pump. A new detached garage/shop is being built, and the plan is to remove the old DC and place a new service DC in the new panel, inside the new garage/shop. The new garage/shop is located very near the pole. Any problems with this plan?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:16 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Service disconnect location


Are the existing feeders being moved to the new shop as well?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Yes, and each feeder will have its own circuit breaker.

They won't be really moved...but their point of origination will be extended into the panel.

Last edited by jlmran; 12-30-2012 at 08:27 AM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:35 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Service disconnect location


I can't see a problem with what you want to do either. I don't know if your location (farm) will require a permit, but you will want to be down at least 3' as I assume the feeders will be under an area that is drivable.

My personal opinion is that if the existing pole is staying, I would keep a panel at that pole, that way, the underground feeders are protected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:43 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Deleted

Last edited by jlmran; 12-30-2012 at 08:49 AM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:48 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Our Permits and inspections are nothing more than money exchanges, and they are required.

All feeders are overhead. So my plan was to extend the service into the new panel through pipe, then feed back out to the pole through the pipe. The pole will still require some type of junction box for the feeder splices, since everything on the existing pole will remain (except service disconnect).
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:50 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Service disconnect location


I don't know the exact requirements but I believe that the requirements for the service entrance conductors or cable are different upstream of the disconnect compared with downstream. So by moving the service disconnect location from the pole to a building, you may need to run different kinds or sizes of conductors overhead or underground.

There is no overcurrent protection other than (probably) the pole transformer primary fuse for the wiring including the service conductors upstream of your service disconnect.

No changes would be needed for the overhead lines from the yard pole to the other buildings, now fed from a breaker in the main building's panel.

Quote:
Must the service disconnect reside immediately after (below) the meter?
Here, no, but the reason this question pops up is that, in a typical home installation with the meter on an outside wall and the panel on an inside wall (in the basement?), there is a limit to the length of the pre-disconnect service cable in the house (again, no overcurrent protection other than back at the pole transformer) connecting the two.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-30-2012 at 09:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:01 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Service disconnect location


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Our Permits and inspections are nothing more than money exchanges, and they are required.

All feeders are overhead. So my plan was to extend the service into the new panel through pipe, then feed back out to the pole through the pipe. The pole will still require some type of junction box for the feeder splices, since everything on the existing pole will remain (except service disconnect).
I will look it up, but I'm not sure you can run unfused and fused feeders in the same raceway.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:24 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Service disconnect location


After thinking this through, I wouldn't do what you are planning. You are adding unnecessary cost, extra splices, and unfused feeders. If you are going to have a JBox on the pole anyway, I think I would install a 3R panel on that pole.

What size is the service going to be? Single or 3 phase?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:27 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

I will look it up, but I'm not sure you can run unfused and fused feeders in the same raceway.
Perfect...thanks.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:20 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Service disconnect location


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I will look it up, but I'm not sure you can run unfused and fused feeders in the same raceway.
It used to be legit before not anymore only exsting installment can stay but anytime the service will be upgraded then the fused and unfused conductors have to be seperated.

The other issue what I heard that many POCO is getting strict with their pole they don't really want anything on it beside the meter that it.

k_buz., Just look up your POCO regulation book on farmstead set up they will mention that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:19 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Service disconnect location


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
After thinking this through, I wouldn't do what you are planning. You are adding unnecessary cost, extra splices, and unfused feeders. If you are going to have a JBox on the pole anyway, I think I would install a 3R panel on that pole.

What size is the service going to be? Single or 3 phase?
125 amp single phase.

I agree that if a jbox on the pole is needed anyway, why not make it a panel? Thanks.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:10 AM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Service disconnect location


125A for a house, a barn, well pump, and a new shop? Seems awful small.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Juggling power during service upgrade. WillK Electrical 2 05-04-2011 06:40 AM
missing service disconnect breaker willywainwright Electrical 2 04-05-2011 02:47 PM
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 08:55 PM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
New Service msagers Electrical 1 02-13-2008 03:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts