Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2009, 01:39 PM   #1
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Share |
Default

Service Disconnect


Per the drawing attached should the neut./ ground be bonded in the circuit breaker box or just the disconnect?
Attached Images
 

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 02:05 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Service Disconnect


Quote:
Originally Posted by TazinCR View Post
Per the drawing attached should the neut./ ground be bonded in the circuit breaker box or just the disconnect?
Bond in the first disconnect, and carry 4 wires to the panel.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 02:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Service Disconnect


Thought I agreed, but now I'm not sure... If your disconnect is unbonded, you may be ok being bonded in the panel. The key is to be bonded in one location only.

Last edited by Addicted; 04-07-2009 at 02:15 PM.
Addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:16 PM   #4
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Default

Service Disconnect


I think per NEC it has to be bonded in first disconnect.
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Default

Service Disconnect


Pardon my ignorance, I'm assuming bonding means tying the neutral and ground together? Also, in the drawing it appears that in the breaker box the neutral (light wire?) is bonded to the ground wire and one of the HOT wires???? Maybe, just the way it's drawn???
Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 05:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Default

Service Disconnect


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Bond in the first disconnect, and carry 4 wires to the panel.
It's pretty simple ..read above
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 06:03 PM   #7
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Default

Service Disconnect


InPhase277 is correct for the daily 2-bit prize
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 09:51 PM   #8
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Default

Service Disconnect


Thanks

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Service Disconnect Height jamiedolan Electrical 13 03-11-2009 05:30 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
New Service msagers Electrical 1 02-13-2008 02:08 PM
Main disconnect box before service panel Cellomangler Electrical 4 02-04-2008 07:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.