Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 11:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 59
Share |
Default

service cable replacement


I have the old cloth covered service cable on my house. I would like to have it replaced as it is old and water is actually wicking in with this old cable. Is this an expensive fix?

hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 12:07 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

service cable replacement


define "expensive"

If it can be replaced with SE cable such as you have and nothing else needs to be done, it is not what I would consider expensive

If, for some reason you need to start replacing the meter socket (they can corrode horribly) or your locality deems this to involve enough of the system where you might have to upsize your service, it can get pricey pretty quickly.


what size is your service panel (amp rating of main breaker)?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 01:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Default

service cable replacement


recently got quoted for replacing meter, panel, & SE, 100A service, for $1500.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 04:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,238
Default

service cable replacement


It's time for a upgrade to 150 amp.You can't just replace the se cable.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 11:50 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Default

service cable replacement


Its up to you but if it were me I would have it upgraded to 200 amp, then you will be covered for anything future you might decide to do. Cost varies but 2000 is about right
SleepyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 12:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 59
Default

service cable replacement


I checked the main breaker it is a 100 amp service. I have an electrician coming over Thursday to check it out.


Last edited by hitmehhh; 09-28-2010 at 12:37 PM.
hitmehhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Panel Replacement and 200A upgrade mark_anderson_u Electrical 2 09-10-2010 06:43 AM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 08:39 AM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 10:20 AM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 06:55 AM
Installing new service & weather head. BowDown Electrical 24 06-10-2009 11:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.