Service Cable From Meter To Load Center - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 11:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Hi Guys,
I need some electrical help. Below there is a rough, not-to-scale drawing of the meter and load center/main breaker that feed my house.

I need to replace my load center and by doing that, I will also need to replace the service wire that runs from my meter to the panel, because the current wires will be too short for the new panel.

Since I am going to be switching the service wires I would like to switch from AL to CU. My problem is that I cannot find a local vendor that has 2/0 copper SEU or SER available.

I know I can run 2/0 copper THHN from the meter to the panel but it is my understanding that it need to be in PVC.

My problem is that the meter and the panel are lined up back to back with each other; however, the meter is lower than the panel. The panel is flush mounted in the 2” x 4” exterior wall and I cannot figure out how I could possibly make that bend with PVC.

All suggestions are welcomed…

Thanks!
Ed


Advertisement

monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


lb fitting?


Advertisement

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,709
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


http://images.search.yahoo.com/image...mb=cpCLpHoH11V
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


@itsnotrequired - I do not think that code will allow me to conceal a LB in the wall.
monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to monkeystomach For This Useful Post:
J. V. (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 11:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


@joecaption - Does code permit the use of NM liquid tight in walls?
monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeystomach View Post
@itsnotrequired - I do not think that code will allow me to conceal a LB in the wall.
it won't. leave it exposed or make an access panel.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


also, keep in mind the bending radius of LFNC. i assume this is a 6" wall? you're probably looking at 2" LFNC which has a bending radius of almost a foot. note that it is only available up to 2" diameter.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:17 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Are you pulling a permit? Your jurisdiction may require an outside disconnect. Mount the disconnect back to back with the inside panel so that the knockouts in the rear of each enclosure line up. Then use a nipple between them. If no disconnect is necessary, you can still go out the back of the inside panel into an LB. Then run pvc pipe from the LB to the meter on the outside wall.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 01:00 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
Are you pulling a permit? Your jurisdiction may require an outside disconnect. Mount the disconnect back to back with the inside panel so that the knockouts in the rear of each enclosure line up. Then use a nipple between them. If no disconnect is necessary, you can still go out the back of the inside panel into an LB. Then run pvc pipe from the LB to the meter on the outside wall.
This the correct way to do this. Meter and panel, back to back. You can use a PVC nipple or a metal nipple between the meter and the panel. You can also use SE cable. With SE you need no conduit. (or you can sleeve it with conduit if you like) SE cable must not be "subject to physical damage".
Check on the requirement for a disconnect as mentioned above.
I personally would use a meter main regardless if the disconnect is required or not. This allows for circuits outside and allows the use of a main lug panel inside instead of a main breaker panel. They are more flexible that the standard meter and service panel setup.
Here is a picture of a meter main service panel.
Attached Images
   
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Thanks for the help everyone. My locality does not require a disconnect outside. The studs on this exterior wall are only 4", so even if I use 2/0 SEU cable in the wall, I think I will still be breaking the NEC code about bend radius (though i am not 100% sure).

I think I will have to do this...
Exit the side of the meter with a 2" PVC elbow pointed upwards
Exit the backside of the panel with a 2" LB pointed downwards
Connect the LB and 90
Run 2/0 THHN for my service

Since the walls are only 4" deep and my panel is flush-mounted that means that the back of my panel is basically touching the siding.
Can I connect the LB directly to the panel or do I need a nipple then a panel adapter?


Thanks,

Ed
monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:39 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


I would either use an LB or SE cable.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


Instead of a 2" LB, can I use a 2" pull elbow?
monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:41 AM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


I did notice that you mention 200 amp service however is the new box you are replaceing is larger than old one if so keep the top at the same level as old one is then the bottom of new one is longer than old one if so you can actually meet meter socket back to back with staight shot there.

I have done this from time to time and new 200 amp panel genrally are longer than old school panels are.

Can ya post the model number and I can able figure it out one way or other.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:19 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Service Cable from Meter to Load Center


The new load center is larger, but the bus is actually smaller because the new breakers are 3/4" instead of 1"". I had to move the panel up to make sure that all of my circuits could properly be connected to the bus. Therefore my current service cable is too short and I need to run a new one. The old one was also installed before the radius bend codes and now would not pass inspection.

Advertisement

monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 amp service entrance cable size Chuck S Electrical 7 01-08-2011 11:17 PM
Meter Load Center Combo mikkyle Electrical 4 10-30-2009 06:49 PM
Flush mount an outdoor load center? wmldwilly Electrical 1 04-29-2009 08:17 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 11:04 AM
meter to service panel mikim Electrical 5 05-04-2007 06:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts