Service At Barn, Sub At House? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2011, 06:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


I have an unusual situation. I'm preparing to connect power to the premises for the first time. The Main disconnect and point of entry will be at the pole barn 40 ft from the power lines. The house, 200ft away from the barn and 240 ft from the pole, will be fed from the panel installed in the barn via 4 conductor 4ought Al already in place. Question is, do I need to install a full 30 breaker service panel at the barn where I don't need all those circuits?
And does the house panel then treated as a "subpanel" and wired accordingly?
Thanks for the help,
Dick

Advertisement

dick_linn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 08:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


Whatever panel holds the main disconnect switch or breaker has to be rated for 200 amps or whatever your service is. They do make "plain" disconnect switch boxes where you can run a conduit to a smaller subpanel with top breaker down below and also run the cable to feed the power to the main house.

In your case, yes, your "main" panel in the house is a subpanel and must have grounds and neutrals separated.

4ought = OOOO

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-20-2011 at 08:28 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


I would use a 200 amp "feed through" panel in the barn. They come with just a few slots for breakers, but have lugs that you connect the wires that go to the house. Some people call them "trailer" panels.

200' is a long run. Have you considered letting the power company provide a new service to the house?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 07:44 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


Thanks for the advice, I hadn't considered the "trailer" type service panel. That seems the best way, I'll just have 220 for the welder and a couple of light and utility circuits in the barn. I'm not really looking forward to doing any more than the minimum business with the power company. The whole idea is to be able to fire up the welder and provide backup for the solar/wind system I've been using for the last 20 years. I may or may not decide to go the interconnect route with the power company.
Thanks again,
Dick
dick_linn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 08:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


Since you already have the cable in place between the house and the barn, there is much less incentive to have the power company put in a separate service for the house.

If you went with the trailer panel, you could add a subpanel for the barn off of the trailer panel if you outgrew it
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
J. V. (04-22-2011)
Old 04-22-2011, 12:27 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post

4ought = OOOO
4/0


at 200 feet to the house , you really need to consider voltage drop. I haven't done any calcs but I doubt 4/0 will give you an acceptable calc.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 05:47 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

service at barn, sub at house?


According to my calculations the 4/O aluminum will handle 240 volts @ 200 amps at 3% voltage drop.

The voltage drop may be greater, percentage wise, for 120 volt loads if all 200 amps are drawn on one side of the 120/240 volt service and significantly less on the other side. Maximum of 6% (the same 7 volt drop) for 200 amps drawn on one side and zero amps on the other side but this is probably impossible because some of the larger loads are 240 volt.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing vinyl siding around an electrical service on an older house huntercrow Carpentry 5 01-28-2011 05:12 PM
Service to a new House user62587 Electrical 12 09-19-2009 01:02 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 07:01 PM
electrical service for new house ehurlbut Electrical 4 08-20-2008 09:14 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts