Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Service amperage.


Most homes that I have seen here (in the boonies) have either a 100 or 200 amp service. The wire which the POCO supplies to these homes appears to be the same size. Is that typical? Is there a standard size used by the POCO when establishing a service? The reason I ask is that so many times a sub-panel (or 2) is added to the main panel. Is there sufficient wiring in place to the service for these additions? How can a homeowner determine this?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:37 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Service amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Most homes that I have seen here (in the boonies) have either a 100 or 200 amp service. The wire which the POCO supplies to these homes appears to be the same size. Is that typical? Is there a standard size used by the POCO when establishing a service? The reason I ask is that so many times a sub-panel (or 2) is added to the main panel. Is there sufficient wiring in place to the service for these additions? How can a homeowner determine this?
The service drop from POCO side they are pretty much standard size and the POCO will know pretty much how much load they are using. It don't matter if 100 ou 200 amp service is used.

The key part what POCO do use is the base load number that how they can get away with it. they don't bother to upsize the drops unless ya got 320/400 amp service it may bump up but if tankless electrique water heaters for sure they will upsize the drop right there ( useally after the transfomer blow the smoke out of the lid )

Most average load on most home AFAIK useally about 30 to 40 amp somewhere that number ( about 6 - 10 KW ) ditto with their POCO transfomer they only use big as possible so most common resdential transfomer useally 15 or 25 KW size which that is the two most common size but there are larger one ( used to feed multi homes )

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:25 PM   #3
Common Sense Common Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. IL near STL
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Service amperage.


As I was installing the subpanel for my electric car charging station, I called the PoCo (rural co-op) out to assess my infrastructure. My home was built in 1991. I had 200 amp service provided on 2/0 AL cable from a 15 kVA pad-mounted transformer (sole home on the transformer). According to PoCo models and records, there were times I was drawing nearly 200% of the rated load of the transformer. They asked me if I had any dimming of lights or noticed anything out of the ordinary -- and I hadn't.

When I told them I was adding an 80A continuous charging load for the car, they agreed they should replace the transformer, drop, and meter. They put in a 37.5 kVA transformer, 350 kcmil compact conductor feed, and a 320/400 meter base.

Bottom line: they're permitted to oversubscribe just a bit. They rely upon you to call them when you add something significant that might cause a problem. I've seen more than 1 installation of a heavy EV charging load cause a transformer to percolate oil.
flasherz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to flasherz For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-04-2013)
Old 02-04-2013, 06:39 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Service amperage.


When we upgraded our service to add an electric tankless water heater and electric heat. They ran 4/0 wire. I think what they run depends on what your load calc is.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,737
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

Service amperage.


Each utility can set its own standards, which are often approved or agreed to by a state regulatory agency.

But yes it is common (for over head service) for the POCO to use one size, whether the service is 100 or 200.

As long as the sub panels you are talking about are fed from that main panel, the service limit is set by the main breaker. So, a 100 amp in the main panel would mean 100 amp service.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 09:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
Central A/C Service Costs brentp Off Topic 9 05-25-2010 08:25 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 06:42 PM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.