Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2011, 05:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

SER to shop


I just built my shop and have 100amp sub in it. I am running 110ft of 1/0 SER out of main panel to a junction box on the other side of my house outside. Switching to URD adding #6 green copper ground, going 2ft underground and going another 20ft to shop.

I know I need seperate ground rods and seperate the grounds and neutrals in pannel. My quetion is can I run SER in a short peice of 1.5 inch pvc to the junction box where the switch to URD will be made.

SER to go in attic, out a bird block, LB down to J box. I have done this before and was told that SER cannot be run in pipe. But was allowed to remain. Not sure of another way to do it unless I make the junction box up in the attic so SER wont be in pipe at all.

Just some advice would be great

lcjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:28 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

SER to shop


Why did they tell you ser could not be run in pipe???!!?

IMO the cable going out of the jbox down to the ground should also be in conduit to protect it from the sun and idiots.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

SER to shop


nec 2008:338.12 no se,ser burried or in conduit.if you go with USE you will be ok...
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:23 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

SER to shop


He's not trying to bury it just wants to come down the outside of the house.
nec 2008:338.12 does not say anything about no being able to sleeve it in conduit.(it does however say no bury)
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.

Last edited by Saturday Cowboy; 03-14-2011 at 01:31 AM.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:07 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

SER to shop


i see urd for bury.but if it was me,i would make it use all the way with no splices if possible.230.50a addresses protection.needed to put that in eariler...

Last edited by oleguy74; 03-14-2011 at 02:24 AM.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a furnace in my shop pdwoods55 HVAC 3 11-16-2010 06:03 PM
Wiring Shop Scrubbie Electrical 6 03-09-2010 07:23 PM
Sub-panel selewis Electrical 23 02-21-2010 11:52 PM
Wiring shop need advice stqevo Electrical 14 09-03-2009 01:18 PM
Sizing wire/breaker to new shop. Roy Rowlett Electrical 8 04-22-2009 01:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.