SER Cable For Branch Circuit & Wire Size - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 12:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Monterrey CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

SER Cable for Branch Circuit & Wire Size


I'm redoing most of the wiring in this house (existing wiring is a huge mess) with a new subpanel inside the utility room. The existing setup is a rusty 100A outdoor panel feeding a rat's nest of various junk. The planned new setup is upgrading to a 200A outdoor panel in the existing location feeding a 100A subpanel in the house utility room and a 60A subpanel in the garage (feeding the pump, garage outlets, and planned horse pen area) as well as eventually another 100A subpanel feeding the 2nd house on the property.

1) Is 1-1-1-2 AL SER cable sufficent for a 100A feeder? Length of the cable would be ~60ft with the majority of the run in the attic. (~6ft would be run in 1 1/2 Carlon exterior to the house). From what I have read and researched it appears to be, but I like to confirm that before I spend the money.

2) Can AL SER cable be used for a branch circuit? I need to run a 50A branch circuit ~35ft through the attic and walls for the oven. It looks like I can get 6-6-6-6 AL SER cable cheaper than 8/3 or 6/3 NM-B Cu and would work for the 50A oven circuit and the 60A garage subpanel (~60ft through the attic). I realize that I would have to ensure that the oven outlet I installed was properly rated for Al wire.

Thank you,
~John

Advertisement

sdmuleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 06:50 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

SER Cable for Branch Circuit & Wire Size


The answer to both questions depends on if the cable runs thru thermal insulation. If yes, the cable you have "chosen" is too small.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 12:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Monterrey CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

SER Cable for Branch Circuit & Wire Size


Ok, thank you.
sdmuleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sanity and work check please-Microwave Dedicated Circuit johnniebravo Electrical 5 02-09-2014 02:42 PM
NEC - what is the purpose of some of these codes ? chez bouton Electrical 32 12-17-2013 03:04 PM
2 - 2oa gfci breakers on 1 - 3 wire cable mazzonetv Electrical 4 10-02-2012 12:34 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
change wire size in a circuit? mtmisfit Electrical 2 10-17-2010 02:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts