Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 10:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Septic System Wiring


I just had a sand mound septic system installed and need to complete the wiring. I have a 1 HP pump and a float alarm. The problem is the distance I have to go. The dosing tank is about 450' from the house and power source. I decided to put a sub panel at the dosing tank and was told that I needed to use 2-2-2-4 Aluminum SER wire. The wire will be in buried underground in PVC conduit for about 400'. The sub panel will only have two circuits, a 20A / 240v pump circuit and a 20A / 120V GFI outlet. The alarm wire will also be in the same conduit but was specified as 14-2. The questions are:
Is the 2-2-2-4 SER wire suitable for use in underground conduit?
Can 14-2 NM wire be used in the same conduit or is there another type THHN or THWN that would be better?
An electrician will make the final connections but I will be supplying the wire, conduit and materials.

Chris843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Septic System Wiring


Don't they make a panel just for this job? With receptacle included? If so, use one of them.
On your VD. Google the words (voltage drop calculator) and use it to determine your VD and wire size.

I am not familiar with your system, but I am familiar with motor and control.
Do you have a drawing to work from? Are you designing this as well as installing this system?

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Septic System Wiring


I could not find a panel exactly like I wanted but got a 4 circuit outdoor panel and installed a 20Amp GFI on the back of the post that it is mounted to. I used a voltage drop calculator and it came up with #2 wire for 20 amps at the end of the line with less than a 3% drop. I need 12 amps for the pump and wanted a little more for the outlet.

This system was part of a design for the sand mound but the designer did not have an electrical background and just specified the equipment needed.

Thanks.
Chris843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:01 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,588
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Septic System Wiring


SER cannot be buried.

Types NM cable cannot be used outside.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:16 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Septic System Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris843 View Post
An electrician will make "the final connections" but I will be supplying the wire, conduit and materials.
May I ask why? Why not let the right person do the whole job?
"The final connections" is by far the easy part. What you are doing is what takes code and technical knowledge.



Also, what genius designed such a system??? 450' from power source to pump??
Makes no sense to me at all.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:46 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Septic System Wiring


I would see if the POCO could drop another pole closer.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:27 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,100
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Septic System Wiring


So your turds are going to travel 450', then need a pump? okay.....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:46 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,577
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Septic System Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
So your turds are going to travel 450', then need a pump? okay.....
Agree, that sound weird. Should be a shorter flow and then pump it 450 feet.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:49 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,100
Rewards Points: 28
Default

Septic System Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Agree, that sound weird. Should be a shorter flow and then pump it 450 feet.
Yep, most septic pump jobs I do are around 50' - 100' from the structure...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Septic System Wiring


You should ask the electrician who is going to do the final connection what he would like you to use !
If he does the final connection, then he is responsible for the safety of the system.
And so a lot of electricians are uncomfortable in taking responsibility
for other peoples work or work they did not do themselves.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 05:27 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Septic System Wiring


Unless the house is on a mountain and your tank is at the bottom of the mountain, the drain line would have to be over 112' in the ground @ 1/4" drop per foot.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 06:48 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Septic System Wiring


I guess I don't know what a sand mound septic system is
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:47 AM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,577
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Septic System Wiring


A sand mound system is used where there is not enough soil depth for a leach field. Usually rocky areas with only a few feet of soil over the rocks. The hill of sandy soil is built in the yard and the effluent from the septic tank is pumped up into the leach field installed in this hill.


__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
J. V. (10-04-2013), stickboy1375 (10-04-2013), wirenut1110 (10-04-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about septic pump & alarm wiring. ACR_SCOUT Plumbing 8 02-04-2012 04:19 PM
Septic System Trouble vivaciousbee Plumbing 3 08-25-2011 02:33 PM
Septic problem or vent problem? wilsonstark Plumbing 9 01-17-2011 06:35 PM
Help with Heat Pump System Wiring AlanScott HVAC 11 10-10-2010 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.