Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2011, 11:24 PM   #1
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


Okay, in the process of thinking about my service move, I thought of something... I have 100A service and am upgrading to 200 at a different location. Was planning to have the 100A panel disconencted to use it as a subpanel as part of this.

My POCO offers a program to run seperate metering for AC so they can power cycle the AC... Do these kind of programs allow you to do cord and plug window AC or is it only central air?

Currently we have no AC and we eventually plan to put in a new HVAC system, but for this year and next we'll probably be on window AC and all the outlets they'd run off are on my 100A panel, and almost everything else is off the 100A panel or wouldn't be hard to move (even in spite of the inspector, by now I think I know what he's looking for on circuits like what would be involved)

If these type programs are only for central AC then it's obviously not going to be an option for now, and I 'll just proceed as planned... If these type of programs can be used for receptacle operated window AC units I'd have to find out more, just wondering if anyone can give me an idea what these programs are all about.

__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:07 AM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


Usually you are only allowed one service. Multiple meters fine, but they would have to be on the same service.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:03 AM   #3
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


Thanks... didn't know how that works, web site doesn't go into that kind of detail. But it seems a little counterintuitive to put a meter on current that has already gone through a meter?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 07:01 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


I've worked on some older houses in AA that have separate meters for the AC. It's only for the central air, and the 2nd meter taps off the incoming service on the line side of the first meter.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:08 AM   #5
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


OK thanks, good to know... I'll just plan on asking about that when we get central air and this is going to be one that is not going to be DIY. No interest in touching anything live line side.

But it does raise the question... If it's tapping into the meter side of the cable from the service drop and I'm using 4/0 for 200 amps, and the potential for pulling 200A with the main panel exists and there is also the potential for pulling additional current for the AC... Is the cable under-rated, or are we talking about tapping off at the service drop?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:44 PM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Seperate metering for AC question


the poco would come by and install another meter pan near the other one and splice it in to their service drop.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermal equalizer on hvac control question Guam HVAC 3 11-30-2009 07:05 PM
Detached Garage Load Question andyjk1 Electrical 14 10-19-2009 02:32 PM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.