Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2011, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Share |
Default

Separate Kitchen sub-panel or not?


My 200 AMP main panel is starting to get a little crowded. I have enough circuits for my new kitchen renovation, but does it make any sense to install a separate sub-panel dedicated just to kitchen circuits? If so, how big? 100AMP? It makes sense to me, in that I would save circuits on the main panel for future electrical expansions, and have all the kitchen stuff organized in one easy box, with a separate main cut-off, if need be. Is this common at all? Thanks

tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 263
Default

Separate Kitchen sub-panel or not?


Nothing wrong with adding the sub panel but I wouldn't worry too much about having it dedicated just to the kitchen. I would install one when I ran out of room in the main panel when needed. What size main panel do you have? If you don't have the largest panel for a main panel then you could always upgrade that to a bigger panel.

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Default

Separate Kitchen sub-panel or not?


My main panel is 200 AMP. I think it has maybe 8-10 spaces or so left on it. It is actually in the attic (yeah...weird), on the opposite end of the house from the kitchen. I created an electrical room around it, for when I finish off the attic. My plan was to install a sub-panel directly above the kitchen, so I could run only one homerun to the main panel, and all the kitchen wiring basically straight up and into a small dedicated box. Seems the most efficient, especially since the area above the kitchen would still be a storage area, even when the attic is finished out. Would a 60 AMP panel be enough for kitchen wiring?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Panel Height? helpless handyman Electrical 25 02-24-2014 03:06 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.