Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Hi;
I am going to install an antenna outside the attic window for my 2 meter ham riig. I will be using it to transmit, so I just want to make sure the rules don't change from those which apply to a receiving antenna.

Can I still use the same ground rod that the electric SE is using by splicing into the ground wire with a clamp-on type of connector (I am not going to cut the grounding wire).

Thanks

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 06:53 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Hi;
I am going to install an antenna outside the attic window for my 2 meter ham riig. I will be using it to transmit, so I just want to make sure the rules don't change from those which apply to a receiving antenna.

Can I still use the same ground rod that the electric SE is using by splicing into the ground wire with a clamp-on type of connector (I am not going to cut the grounding wire).

Thanks

FW

Hello;

This is the correct procedure per my understanding. You just use a regular clamp rated for the size of wire your using for grounding your ham setup. If you install a second rod for the Ham, you need to bond that rod via 6awg cable to the rest of your rods (or I believe it can also be connected directly to your SE)Here is a link to some info Holt wrote on the subject:

http://www.mikeholt.com/technical.ph...ish%20(1-12-2K)

Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 10:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


I would suggest you do a search on one of several ham radio sites - huge amounts of information there regarding antennas, radio equipment, and grounding system installation.

A couple of my favorites -
www.eham.com
www.qrz.com

73's
Vince
W6CD
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 08:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Thanks guys;
Sorry for my ignorance. Not only do I have bookmarks of several ham forums, but I have a copy, albeit an electronic copy of the NEC 2005 and also 2008.

Thanks

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 10:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Same bonding rule applies. Bonding conductor must be attached to the grounding electrode system of the main service. A split bolt works good for this.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Thanks.
Now I've got to find out whether or not I can even install the antenna. I can't get the top half of my attic window open, and will need to do so in order to secure the upper support.

I may end up just sticking it through the vent in the attic roof<g>

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Separate ground rod for antenna?


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Thanks.
Now I've got to find out whether or not I can even install the antenna. I can't get the top half of my attic window open, and will need to do so in order to secure the upper support.

I may end up just sticking it through the vent in the attic roof<g>

FW
Sounds like the bonding was the easy part. Good luck on the mast install.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 10:14 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
To ground or not to ground, that is the question cartalker Electrical 8 10-18-2008 10:12 AM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 12:47 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.