Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

Security System (Cameras)


Hi all
I recently bought a house that has a few security cameras installed. Today i had the security company come to turn on the security system and they told me that the cameras are not a part of their security system. So it is basically a stand alone surveillance system. I notice that there is an equipment in the attic that is for sure part of the system (see photos). Each cable that comes out of this "box" has a tag indicating to each camera that cable is from. So my questions are:

- Is this box recording the video (it make a hard drive type of sound)?
- Do i have to link this to a DVR in order to record?
- How can i monitor the videos? What equipment do I need to buy?

Thank you
Roger
Attached Thumbnails
Security System (Cameras)-image-955617501.jpg   Security System (Cameras)-image-3076522954.jpg  

rogerusp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Security System (Cameras)


Gonna need some info off the multiplexer to tell you if it is a DVR as well.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Security System (Cameras)


There is this serial number on it. And nothing else. Closed box. (Picture below)
Each cable coming out of the wall split in 2. One goes into this box and the other is the second picture i posted

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Security System (Cameras)-image-1084549550.jpg  
rogerusp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:11 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Security System (Cameras)


From that info, all that seems to be is an enclosure for the power supply/s to the cameras. That is a type of siamese cable that has a RG59 and a 2 conductor low volt cable...one end has the BNC connector to go to the multiplexor and the 2 other conductors would get powered by the supply.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Security System (Cameras)


Got it. So something like this would be enough to get things going?


http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0095E...AC_SX112_SY192
rogerusp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boiler system not completely filling? jeffro83 HVAC 9 08-31-2012 11:56 AM
Conceal Wiring from Security System jett Electrical 5 08-02-2011 09:10 PM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.