Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2011, 05:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Hi all,

Just a quick question, I am looking on advice on how to secure the wires into, and out of my outlet boxes (I think code is that they must be secured within 12" of enter/exit of the gang box). I think this is traditionally done with the staples but I have superior walls in my basement and I'm not sure what would be the best way to secure these wires being that the studs are foam wrapped.

I'm sure you all are familiar with superior walls but I attached a picture just in case.


stradt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 05:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Use long screws that will penetrate the foam and get into the studs. You can get a collar that encircles the wire and that has a tab with hole for one screw to hold it onto the stud.

How are you going to anchor the outlet boxes?

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Use long screws that will penetrate the foam and get into the studs. You can get a collar that encircles the wire and that has a tab with hole for one screw to hold it onto the stud.

How are you going to anchor the outlet boxes?


self tapping screws into the galvanized steel lip.
stradt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:45 AM   #4
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


You will need romex or pushin connector to secure wire or wires to the boxes.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


deleted.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-16-2011 at 06:54 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:10 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
You will need romex or pushin connector to secure wire or wires to the boxes.
Totally agree. They way you have it is non-compliant and not safe.


As far as securing goes, use TapCons, or other concrete screws, to fasten tie-wraps with a mounting lug.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
You will need romex or pushin connector to secure wire or wires to the boxes.

Could you post a pic of these or link me to them? I'm not sure I know what these are. Thanks for letting me know I was in violation of code.

Jason
stradt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:15 PM   #8
electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Look up NM connector on google. The ones I often see are black plastic around here.
here is a link to amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Gam-Pak-Produc.../dp/B000TTFA3O

Last edited by tweak; 07-16-2011 at 04:16 PM. Reason: added link
tweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:28 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by tweak View Post
Look up NM connector on google. The ones I often see are black plastic around here.
here is a link to amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Gam-Pak-Produc.../dp/B000TTFA3O
These are exactly what you should use. Only thing is, the link is for 3/4". You need 1/2".
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
tweak (07-16-2011)
Old 07-16-2011, 04:31 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Securing Outlet Wire


To make it easier to comply with fastening the cable within the 12" I would use the top or bottom knockouts, not the side one like shown.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220, two wire, hard wire, to 4 prong outlet jasesselstyn Electrical 9 11-27-2010 08:59 PM
"Split" wire in junction box to outlet and light froddan Electrical 6 12-07-2009 11:32 AM
Switching an outlet with Thermostat wire rocketdoctor Electrical 7 08-03-2009 01:39 PM
Switch Box / Outlet Photos (with mid wire skining) jamiedolan Electrical 22 02-18-2009 06:39 PM
trying to wire a light and light switch off of an outlet imphishy Electrical 3 03-16-2005 09:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.