Secure Wires From Conduit In Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


I am running wires to a sub panel in a pole barn. The wire will run through conduit straight into the sub panel. The conduit is 1 1/2" PVC/gray plastic and enters the box from the bottom.

Do I need to secure the wires to the sub panel where they come out of the conduit?

When using Romex, I have used two different types of connectors (one that clamps down and the other being a plastic button that snaps in). Is there an equivalent for wire coming out of conduit?

Advertisement

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:54 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
I am running wires to a sub panel in a pole barn. The wire will run through conduit straight into the sub panel. The conduit is 1 1/2" PVC/gray plastic and enters the box from the bottom.

Do I need to secure the wires to the sub panel where they come out of the conduit?

When using Romex, I have used two different types of connectors (one that clamps down and the other being a plastic button that snaps in). Is there an equivalent for wire coming out of conduit?
Wire run in conduit require no extra protection. When they leave the conduit they enter a box, panel or condulet. (conduit body). The wires entering the sub panel will not require any support. Some people use ties to keep the wires neat. This is optional.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,422
Rewards Points: 2,506
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


Just run conduit from boxes to panel, or use either mc or bx. You can only use conduit with romex, if you are protecting it from damage for say a short distance. For example, in unfinished basements, you have an outlet for the washer on the wall behind it, and the run goes up into the ceiling joists. Otherwise, if sticking with conduit, the cost will come out the same as bx or mc, until you get into the heavier gauges, say #8, then it becomes cheaper to.pull thhn in conduit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 09-27-2011 at 09:13 PM.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You can only use conduit with romex, if you are protecting it from damage for say a short distance.


To the OP, you cannot run romex in a unfinished/exposed walls pole barn. It is considered a wet/damp location and you have no 15 minute fire barrier.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 04:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


The original question was answered by J.V.

But you have lost me on some of the other replies.

I plan to run conduit throughout the pole barn. In other applications with Romex, the Romex has to be secured where it enters the box or panel. Because I have not used conduit in other applications, I was simply asking if the wire coming out of the conduit needed to be secured to the panel.

The pole barn has no interior walls. All of the wiring/conduit will be exposed. I planned to use conduit because it will look better than a bunch of yellow 12/2 Romex running along the walls.

My first question: gregzoll said,
Quote:
You can only use conduit with romex, if you are protecting it from damage for say a short distance.
Are you saying that you cannot run Romex in conduit? Or are you saying that you are foolishly wasting your money running Romex in conduit? One reason I ask is that on another thread on this site (Romex in PVC) the consensus is that it is OK to run Romex in conduit.

My second question: Code05 said,
Quote:
To the OP, you cannot run romex in a unfinished/exposed walls pole barn. It is considered a wet/damp location and you have no 15 minute fire barrier.
Are you simply saying that I cannot have exposed Romex, or are you saying that no Romex is allowed? I agree that it is not wise to have exposed Romex in a barn, but I have been in quite a few barns that have passed their electric inspection and have miles of exposed yellow 12/2 Romex. In fact, that is one of the reasons I want to use conduit. I don't like the look of exposed Romex.

So far, I am still in the planning stages, but I do want lights out there soon. The contractor buried the 1 1/2" conduit from the main panel under the lawn when he was back-filling and grading around the pole barn. I have the sub panel installed, but have not yet pulled the wires. I am, though, considering using some 12/2 Romex inside 3/4" conduit to power the lights or outlets. I have six 10-foot lengths of conduit and about 100 feet of 12/2 left over from an uncompleted basement project and just want to use it up.
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:48 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,422
Rewards Points: 2,506
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


No, you can not, because it is the improper way to run it, and it is a PITA to pull anyways. Need to read the NEC, before you tackle this.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No, you can not, because it is the improper way to run it, and it is a PITA to pull anyways. Need to read the NEC, before you tackle this.
Thanks for the advice to read the NEC. I learned more than I wanted to just by reading Chapter 3 Wiring Methods and Materials. The 2011 NEC is available via NFPA.org. You have to register at the site. Then search for "National Electric Code" (see http://www.nfpa.org/aboutthecodes/Ab...&EditionID=765 to view the document online). I have bookmarked the site for future reference.

Article 334 about nonmetalic sheathed cable (including NM) states that NM cannot be used in wet locations (334.12(B)(4)). However, 334.15(B) states that to protect NM cable from physical damage that NM can be run through various conduits including Schedule 80 PVC.

It seems that the correct answer is that, although Romex (being an NM cable) can be run through conduit, in my application, it is not allowed because the pole barn with no interior walls is considered a wet location (violates 334.12(B)(4)).

That answers my questions and provides me additional knowledge. After seeing other approved barns in my county, I wonder if the inspector has read the NEC.
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:10 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,422
Rewards Points: 2,506
Default

Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel


They usually will look at the changes, but most are more comercial inspections vs. resi. A lot also have burned themselves, like the group up in Chicago that lost their jobs, due to not doing their jobs.

I had the 2003 to 2011 on my hard drive, but lost due to a reformat this week. I have the 2008 on my iPhone, which runs around $80, from McGraw Hill.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
GFCI Panel Conduit Question passmaster16 Electrical 1 06-08-2011 11:28 PM
Unintended kitchen remodel Itsdanf Project Showcase 191 06-14-2010 12:23 PM
Question about outdoor panel, conduit and derating wire pttcc Electrical 10 02-15-2010 11:51 AM
Conduit through garage to house. Max wires? RyanD Electrical 12 08-02-2009 06:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts