Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 440
Share |
Default

Second line from GFCI shut it all down


I had an ungrounded outlet that feed another outlet that powers my water softener. Rather than make these outlets two prong I added a GFCI that powered the downstream water softener outlet. In addition to the water softener there is another unknown line fed by the GFCI.

So I have a GFCI with two lines going out from the “load” side with one going to an unknown location and the other to my water softener outlet. This system worked fine for a couple months, but then I noticed the water softener no longer worked. I reset the GFCI and the light blinked and immediately went out. I disconnected the unknown line and now it all works fine. I do not know where that other line went, but obviously it went to something that caused trouble for the GFCI. What would cause this to occur and why were things fine for two months?

Thank you in advance to all who help.

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:15 AM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,260
Default

Second line from GFCI shut it all down


Could be an outdoor receptacle, could be a basement receptacle, or almost anywhere really. It's hard to give you a "why" if you don't know where/what we're even talking about.

BTW, how did you attach 2 sets of conductors to the load side of the GFI? All the ones I've ever seen have one set of screws for the load side. (I understand maybe you pigtailed them...I'm just curious)


Last edited by jproffer; 04-24-2013 at 11:18 AM.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 02:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 440
Default

Second line from GFCI shut it all down


I will ultimately have to go under my crawl sapce and I am not looking forward to that. I am just wondering what type of thing could cause this to happen.

GFCIs do have two openings under the screw for wires. I have never seen one with just one. I got it at Home Depot.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 02:46 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Second line from GFCI shut it all down


Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post
I will ultimately have to go under my crawl sapce and I am not looking forward to that. I am just wondering what type of thing could cause this to happen.

GFCIs do have two openings under the screw for wires. I have never seen one with just one. I got it at Home Depot.
It could feed to an outside receptacle in a flower bed.
It could have been chewed by mice.
It could just be open wires that have finally contacted dirt, or non of the above and many other reasons.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (04-24-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gfci question bernie963 Electrical 6 02-08-2013 09:45 AM
Gas line for pool heater BillyDIY Plumbing 3 06-10-2011 02:29 PM
GFCI grounding; and inside double gang box? Wildswalle Electrical 5 05-29-2011 01:25 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.