Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 12:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

SE-R cable exposed


This might be hard to follow but:

I ran a #4 SE-R copper cable from my basement subpanel to our garage up through the ceiling.

The stud bay (16") to get down to the main is full of outgoing wires out of the main panel through the top plate

The main panel is surfaced mounted and most of the existing wires/cables travel in the stud bay and enter through the back of the panel from the stud bay.

In order for me to get from the ceiling down I would have to poke through the drywall and run the cable down the face of the wall (drywall) and enter the main through the top or side of the surface mounted main panel.

Since SE-R and NM cable cannot be ran through conduit even for a short run, can I frame in the whole main panel with 2x4 studs from up to the ceiling and cover the the frame and SE-R with 3/4" plywood.... this would be a protective box out of wood to cover (protect the cable) from the point in comes out of the ceiling along the wall, down to the point where it enters the main.

would this be against code?


l hope this is easy to follow.

Kermie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 05:28 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

SE-R cable exposed


What you're proposing to do is fine with boxing in at the top/bottom.

You can also use a piece of conduit to protect the cable coming down the wall.

If you plan to run several wires, I'd just use a piece of 2" pvc with a plastic bushing and strip the sheathing off of what will be in the conduit.

As long as they're not over 24" in length, you won't need to derate.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 07:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

SE-R cable exposed


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
strip the sheathing off of what will be in the conduit.

I thought your not supposed to do this?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 08:10 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Default

SE-R cable exposed


se can be run with or without a raceway outside...i'm not sure about skinning it though(ive done it before, dont tell anyone...ok)
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 09:29 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,084
Default

SE-R cable exposed


Once the overall jacket is removed the cable becomes an unlisted assembly and would not be recognized as a compliant wiring method.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 09:38 AM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

SE-R cable exposed


Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
se can be run with or without a raceway outside...i'm not sure about skinning it though(ive done it before, dont tell anyone...ok)
The conductors must be marked on the insulation, the way thhn is to use it in a raceway without a jacket.
jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Need Help Uploading Photos?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 11:11 AM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

SE-R cable exposed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Once the overall jacket is removed the cable becomes an unlisted assembly and would not be recognized as a compliant wiring method.
True, but it's not that big of a deal. There are far greater code violations than this.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 12:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

SE-R cable exposed


I like your idea to box in the SE cable. Perfectly compliant. You also can run SE cable down through a section/sleeve of conduit into the panel if you want. Just enough conduit to get it above the ceiling. You do not have to remove the insulation. Put a connector and bushing on each end of the conduit.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 02:14 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default

SE-R cable exposed


I will call my inspector but he is gone through next week. I was hoping to get some stuff done this weekend. I might do the PVC (schedule 80) sleeve from ceiling to box...he can always tell me to take it down.
Kermie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 02:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Default

SE-R cable exposed


he's not going to...its legal to run se in conduit outside...and its not that big of a deal if you skin it....

NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.