Sconce Placed In Studs? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 07:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Hey,

I got a problem...

I was planning to put sconces on each side of a bathroom mirror. But, the location of the mirror means that the sconce boxes would have to be put into the studs. See pictures. The cardboard cut out gives the dimensions of the mirror. Furthermore, the right sconce would right over the trim of the closet.

1. Can I put these sconce boxes in these studs?

2. Should I just do lighting over the mirror? I was considered doing this in addition to the sconces.

3. If I don't use the sconces on the sides of the mirror, are there any other places in the bathroom to put them? I already bought them and they match the bathroom sink faucet.

I can't move the mirror much to the left because the toilet is going to be right there. It's a tight fit as it is.

Any inspiration?

Red
Attached Thumbnails
Sconce placed in studs?-007.jpg   Sconce placed in studs?-008.jpg  

Advertisement

RedBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Why not mount them to the sides of the studs ?
Its only another 3" or so

Or is that a doorway in the 2nd pic...so that would not work ?
They do make pancake boxes that might work - depends upon the sconce base

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Sconce placed in studs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Why not mount them to the sides of the studs ?
Its only another 3" or so
Exactly my idea! But then he would have to use different boxes (Dry wall boxes)!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 08:29 PM   #4
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,353
Rewards Points: 1,158
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Those appear to be older true 2x4 studs, a lot of wood. Why not use "pancake boxes"? They are thinner than the boxes shown, you could into the studs only deep enough for the boxes. Everything will fall into place rather well. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 09:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Yes, the beam that the right sconce box is on is the frame for the bathroom closet. Moving the right sconce three inches over would put it on the closet door or in the closet.

I am not familiar with pancake boxes. I will look into them. How can I tell if my sconces will work with pancake boxes?

Thanks, guys, you are quite inspirational!

Red
RedBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 09:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Bring a sconce with you & see if it fits in the base
I use the metal ones

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 09:27 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,305
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


A pancake box only has enough cubic inch capacity to allow one 14-2 cable. Unless the canopy is marked with its cubic inch capacity that volume does not count.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 09:27 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Those pancakes look so good I reached for the syrup. I'll give it a try!

Thanks for solving another one!
RedBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 10:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Sconce placed in studs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBear View Post
Yes, the beam that the right sconce box is on is the frame for the bathroom closet. Moving the right sconce three inches over would put it on the closet door or in the closet.

I am not familiar with pancake boxes. I will look into them. How can I tell if my sconces will work with pancake boxes?

Thanks, guys, you are quite inspirational!

Red
Yes. The spacing on the box or crossbar assembly is the same. Either with 6-32 or 8-32 screws. (The pancake boxes use 8-32 screws.)! So. It's a YES. 2-1!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 435
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


f you use the pancake boxes don't feed the cable through the middle knock-out.The mounting bolt for your light might need that space
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:41 AM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,260
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


I meant to post these yesterday. These are from the New York State building code, it should be verified with your locality, but chances are they are similar or identical. You could cut a notch in the front of the stud and mount the box right over it, allowing you to run the wire in behind.
Attached Thumbnails
Sconce placed in studs?-exterior.jpg   Sconce placed in studs?-interior.jpg  
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 02-04-2010 at 09:45 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:21 PM   #12
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Sconce placed in studs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Bring a sconce with you & see if it fits in the base
I use the metal ones

you beat me to it!

Advertisement

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New foundation for bathroom floor and exterior wall studs JayG Building & Construction 2 07-11-2010 02:25 PM
Cripple studs below a header mercy Building & Construction 3 01-20-2010 04:20 PM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 05:16 PM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-11-2006 12:10 AM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts