Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 09:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

sconce lighting


I want to install 2 sconce in my basement, what is the correct box size for these? Will a regular outlet box work? Thanks

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

sconce lighting


helpless (definitely),
use the round / octagon boxes..

JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:53 AM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

sconce lighting


Sconces can be a different duck than other fixtures, just depends on the style of sconce and its canopy that covers the wall electrical box. Some sconces require 3 1/2" or 3 1/4" round or octagon boxes. Some will be fine with a 4 inch round or octagon. You also need to be aware of old work boxes (if plastic) that are 4 inch and have a 3/8 to 1/2 inch lip that rides the outside of your finished wall, these may not cover with some styles of sconces..in particular the ones that are half moon shaped like this....



Let the canopy be your guide as to the box size you need....
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 11:51 AM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

sconce lighting


I want to hang some sconces too. But, I do not have enough room for the standard 4 inch oct box (the box has to go into a framed cavity only 3 inches wide). It seems like 314.27's exception would allow me to use an outlet box if my sconce weight is under 6 lbs. Is this correct?

Am I apt to find much selection with the (assumed) restriction?
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 04:00 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

sconce lighting


This might be what you need.



http://www.aifittings.com/whnew95.htm
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 04:33 PM   #6
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

sconce lighting


What is the side to side dimensions of this? The webpage says 3.5 inch "hole saw". I don't need to drill a hole - but I only have 3 inches of width to work with. thanks

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 12:45 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 08:06 AM
lighting guideline's - kitchen remodel dcd22 Electrical 3 08-01-2007 11:50 AM
Calculating lighting wbjdmd Electrical 18 11-01-2006 05:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.