Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-28-2011, 07:39 PM   #1

Share |

Saw struggles, dies

If I rewire this table saw motor to operate on 240V instead of 120V as it is currently, would it help with the problems I'm having keeping the saw running while cutting denser materials?

This is plugged into a 15A dedicated circuit fed with 14-2 romex. Almost every time I try to rip a nice chunk of hickory or red oak or even yellow pine, the saw shuts down after getting a couple feet into it. I have to smack the main switch off, usually wait several seconds, hit the reset switch on the motor, and pull the power back up before the blade will turn again. By this time, my cut is almost certainly mutilated to a fare-thee-well.

Anyway, I figure if I rewire the motor for 240V and install a double-pole breaker in the panel, I can use the same 14-2 that's already there. I'm a carpenter, though, not an electrician, so I just wanted to ask if this will work without killing me, burning down the house, or whatever else.

harry_ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:47 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Saw struggles, dies

That will not change anything.

Make sure the blade is sharp and square, and cut slower.

My saw has trouble with oak also.

Old 10-28-2011, 07:57 PM   #3
I=E/R

Saw struggles, dies

What is the pulley ratio between the arbor and motor shaft?
What diameter blade are you running?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:58 PM   #4

Saw struggles, dies

spray some WD-40 on both sides of the blade and loosen up on the belt a bit if you have one forget changing the electric..might be sap or gunk on it thats locking it up on the cut don't push the wood to hard into the blade and try tilting it up a bit....
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:21 PM   #5

Saw struggles, dies