Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 09:48 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sounds like the circuits were not laid out properly and in consideration of the expected loads.
you are 100% correct, unfortunately i dont own the house and have to deal with it. you should see the diagram for this mess, i had to trace all the lines since it was never done. i've talked with the owner but he's not willing to let me re-run the lines.

that said, i took it upon myself to replace the 15amp with 20amp, first checking to see the wires could handle it. saves me having to walk down stairs every time an accidental trip occurs.

outspoken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:19 AM   #17
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
you are 100% correct, unfortunately i dont own the house and have to deal with it. you should see the diagram for this mess, i had to trace all the lines since it was never done. i've talked with the owner but he's not willing to let me re-run the lines.

that said, i took it upon myself to replace the 15amp with 20amp, first checking to see the wires could handle it. saves me having to walk down stairs every time an accidental trip occurs.
Sounds like you don't own this property, as such you should not have touched anything. You have created a potential fire hazard in someone elses property. Rarely is an undersized fuse or breaker installed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 11:06 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sounds like you don't own this property, as such you should not have touched anything. You have created a potential fire hazard in someone elses property. Rarely is an undersized fuse or breaker installed.
My only reason for replying to this thread was to say there is not a waste of 5 amps when installing a 20amp for a 15amp application. If there is, on what grounds would that be?
outspoken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:29 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
My only reason for replying to this thread was to say there is not a waste of 5 amps when installing a 20amp for a 15amp application. If there is, on what grounds would that be?
First off, what is your profession? Are you an electrician or electrical contractor? Carpenter? Handyman?

Second, RE-READ what I wrote. I said "a POTENTIAL 5 amps". Meaning the circuit would trip 5 amps sooner. So the added POTENTIAL 5 amps worth of circuit would prevent a decent amount of tripping IMO.

I also agree with Jim. You SHOULD NOT be touching ANYTHING electrical in a place you rent. ESPECIALLY after the LL told you not to.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:37 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
First off, what is your profession? Are you an electrician or electrical contractor? Carpenter? Handyman?

Second, RE-READ what I wrote. I said "a POTENTIAL 5 amps". Meaning the circuit would trip 5 amps sooner. So the added POTENTIAL 5 amps worth of circuit would prevent a decent amount of tripping IMO.

I also agree with Jim. You SHOULD NOT be touching ANYTHING electrical in a place you rent. ESPECIALLY after the LL told you not to.
POTENTIAL is voltage not amperage.

The size of the service is based on the size of the dwelling, plus special circuits, not the number and size of standard circuits, nor the size of the breaker box.
goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:27 PM   #21
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
POTENTIAL is voltage not amperage.

The size of the service is based on the size of the dwelling, plus special circuits, not the number and size of standard circuits, nor the size of the breaker box.
Potential used as a noun could be voltage but when used as an adjective means possible.

And your response in Post #13
Quote:
The reason to use 20amp would be to prevent the potential trip.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 04-29-2012 at 09:38 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:30 PM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
POTENTIAL is voltage not amperage.

The size of the service is based on the size of the dwelling, plus special circuits, not the number and size of standard circuits, nor the size of the breaker box.
It seems like people just like to argue.........
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
goosebarry (04-30-2012)
Old 04-29-2012, 09:40 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


in the iec world, voltage is tension.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:43 PM   #24
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
in the iec world, voltage is tension.

As in High Tension
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:46 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
As in High Tension
i thought that was because of the physical tension on the actual wires between the transmission structures.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #26
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


From an on-line dictionary:
5. physics a. voltage, electromotive force, or potential difference b. ( in combination ): high-tension ; low-tension
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:36 AM   #27
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
POTENTIAL is voltage not amperage.
WHO is talking about voltage??? And I am NOT talking about "voltage potential", such as with pools.
Are you even reading the replies?



Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
The size of the service is based on the size of the dwelling, plus special circuits, not the number and size of standard circuits, nor the size of the breaker box.
WHAT in the world are you talking about???
WHO said anything about the service size?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:54 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 640
Default

Saving money by using 12 AWG on 15amp circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
As in High Tension
High Anxiety is more fitting.

Love the movie too!

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
goosebarry (04-30-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 09:06 AM
Smoke Detectors on Different Circuits Mililani Electrical 13 10-17-2010 06:35 PM
Multiple circuits losing power Skip72 Electrical 6 09-20-2010 10:27 AM
How many circuits for bedrooms? Clutchcargo Electrical 5 08-10-2010 09:40 AM
I'm all about saving money on electricity but what is this? imola ghost Electrical 15 09-09-2008 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.