Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


I know the answer is probably no,but I have to ask.
I am going to pull seven - #10 wires in a 3/4" conduit, (two hots,two neutrals and insulated ground, one circuit is for cloths dryers and one for central A/C.
My intentions are for future proofing if we ever get a new dryer and I like the idea of running an insulated ground for the A/C as well.
The only reason I ask is because I'm down to the last two wraps on my spool of #10 green,if I have to buy more it's not a problem.

Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


Sure, multiple ciruits use the same ground all the time.
The ground wire must be sized to the largest circuit in the pipe.

The conduit can serve as the ground also!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 03-08-2012 at 08:33 PM. Reason: more info
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


I just wonder how #10's are enough for AC and a dryer.....hmmm....and two hots, two neutrals and a ground is only 5 wires. What am I missing?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
I just wonder how #10's are enough for AC and a dryer.....hmmm....and two hots, two neutrals and a ground is only 5 wires. What am I missing?
Missed that

I hope he means 2 hot per.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:09 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


Two hots for the dryer, two hots for the A/C, one neutral for the dryer, one ground for both.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:24 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Two hots for the dryer, two hots for the A/C, one neutral for the dryer, one ground for both.
This sounds right to me.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Same ground 2 circuits?


Jim you are right.
I had upgraded my service (permitted) and the company that did it are friends of the family,everything is new from the service drop through out the whole house.
Last week I went down to their shop asking for the bill and he wouldn't charge me ,so I feel bad about calling him.
To make matters worst there were 3 spools of #12 (Grn,Wht, Blk) and 4, 1/3 full spools of # 10,( Wht Blue,Blk and Grn) and 75 feet of #4 bare and a big box of fittings.
With a note - " saying finish up the basement and these two circuits before my final inspection."


Last edited by Ravenworks; 03-08-2012 at 10:03 PM.
Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Ground Rods, help Ralph III Electrical 72 02-14-2012 09:31 PM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 10:07 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 08:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.