Saltwater Tank Circuit Overload - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2009, 07:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


My son has a saltwater fish tank which has over the years become more and more elaborate; upgrading filter systems, lighting etc. He has two or three power strips that are close to full plugged into two separate outlets in his room. Since the weather has warmed and we started running the AC I have had the circuit trip when i run my washing machine which is on its own GFCI, I think that's right, circuit. (the outlet my washer is plugged into has its own breaker). We sometimes have issues with running the microwave in the kitchen and hair dryer in the bathroom at the same time and circuits tripping.

Can his tank draw from other circuits in the house jeopardizing my appliances? and are all of these 'fish' items too much for one circuit.

Advertisement

pamelajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


it's "too much" when you trip a breaker because of the draw.

a load will generally only cause the breaker it is on to trip. The one way a highly loaded breaker can make another circuits breaker trip is if the circuit is loaded so much that it causes the breaker to heat up. A typical breaker can trip by heat as well as a high magnetic field caused by a very high current flow.

Feel the breakers (just lay your hand on the face of the breakers). If any of them are hot, they are most likely loaded too much. Their proximity to another breaker that is also highly loaded and heating can cause enough cumulative heat to trip that breaker.

what brand of breaker panel do you have?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 08:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


If the "fish items" where to much they would trip the breaker they are on and not affect any other circuit. GFCI have a tendency to trip with capacitive loads like the capacitive start motors in washing machines. It has to do with current flow delays caused by the capacitors.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 08:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


How big is the fish tank?
I have a 125g saltwater tank & I have equipment on several circuits

Lights - 1 circuit
Recirc pump + 1 heater - 2nd circuit
2nd heater & work area lights - 3rd circuit
In tank recirc pump - 4th circuit

Too much on 1 circuti will trip it
Too many plugs into a power strip is not a good idea either
Each item should have a drip loop before it goes into the outlet/surge
Water can & will drip, salt will form & cause problems

Also if the one circuit kicks off his tank is dead
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 12:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


Do you know for sure the breaker that the tank is on is the one tripping? If it is, just run a new 20 amp dedicated circuit to the tank. Then install a couple receptacles to eliminate at least one of the strips.

Or, just run the new circuit to the existing recepts close to the tank.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:14 AM   #6
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

saltwater tank circuit overload


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
it's "too much" when you trip a breaker because of the draw.
Perhaps "way too much"?

pamelajo,

Is the AC on the same circuit as the tank? (Is it a window or wall unit in your son's room, or do you have CAC?)

As far as the stuff related to the tank goes, you should start by adding up the ratings of each of the components (lights, pumps, etc). Lights might be .5A, pump #1 2A, pump #2 3A, heater 5A, etc. Maybe a lot more, maybe less.

Take that total, and multiply by 1.25. That number is the rating of the circuit you'd want (dedicated) for the tank. I'm assuming that most of the load would be continuous. Maybe it wouldn't be (the heater probably cycles on for < 3 hrs. at a clip), but it couldn't hurt to have some overhead anyway.

If the number you got in adding everything up * 1.25 is low (5-10A) you don't generally need to bother with a dedicated circuit, though it would still be a good idea if your son's room is sharing a circuit with other rooms. (If your son has a TV/stereo/computer in his room, that adds to the load, assuming that right now his room only has 1 circuit powering its receptacles. If there is an AC in his room running off the same circuit as the tank and/or other appliances, then the AC should also have a dedicated circuit).

As Scuba_Dave pointed out, you can always distribute the load of the tank equipment across more than one circuit, which will help keep the fish alive in case one circuit blows, and keep the load balanced.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pamelajo
We sometimes have issues with running the microwave in the kitchen and hair dryer in the bathroom at the same time and circuits tripping.
You might want to consider having an electrician take a look. I only say this because it sounds like you have too few or strangely laid out circuits or a lot of heat in your panel, and it could take us a while to sort it out here.. But you could post some more info; panel mfr./model, age of your electrical system, service rating (50A, 100A, 200A, etc).

BTW - I'm not an electrician, just putting in my 2c.

Advertisement

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nightmare water tank job Marvin Gardens Plumbing 6 11-04-2008 12:09 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 08:17 PM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 08:55 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts