Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 07:49 AM   #16
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Safest way to put a UPS inline with a circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by homerb View Post
Just spray pain them red before you install them. There you go, red outlets! Or you can put a red dot on them somewhere. Or use a label maker and write "Emergency Power" or whatever.
Yeah probably what I'd do, considering I can get a box of 10 white decora plugs for like 3 bucks.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 03:02 PM   #17
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Safest way to put a UPS inline with a circuit?


I'm planing out this project, but I can't seem to find anywhere that sells these inlets. I found ones for generators but they are very expensive, mostly probably because they are made for outside and come with a cover etc. Need something plain that can be installed in a standard receptacle box. Basically I want receptacles, but male versions. One to feed each circuit that will be going in.

OR can I use heavy duty extension cord cable and just a plug end? So I'd have something like:

Male end -> heavy duty extension wire (14 or 12awg) -> receptacle box -> romex -> next receptacle box etc
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 04:02 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Safest way to put a UPS inline with a circuit?


This will work: http://www.amazon.com/MIDLITE-4642-W...3400881&sr=8-1
as will this: http://www.drillspot.com/products/12...ed_Nylon_Inlet

You can also do the cord idea.

General is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 09:04 PM
Home Theater Dedicated Circuit rjschwar Electrical 20 12-16-2009 12:42 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.