Safe To Install New Outlet Without Connecting Ground Directly To Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 01:03 AM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 16

Safe to install new outlet without connecting ground directly to outlet?

Tearing out a wall cabinet uncovered a hole in the wall which I think I can install an outlet on. The problem is that the ground wires are to short to pull out far enough to attach to the outlet.

However, the box in the wall is metal, so there should still be an path to the ground from the outlet right? Or is there something special about the green screw on the outlet which makes that the only safe spot to attach the ground to?

box I uncovered:

fuzzy picture of the inside of the box showing the ground being attached to metal box:

The outlet I want to install... (although I dont know how to pick the right outlet based on the limited info on the wiring I have, so any help with that would also be appreciated):


charliebarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
k_buz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006

Do you want this recept? If not, just put a blank plate over it.

If you do, look for a self-grounding tamper-resistant recept.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:44 AM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
plummen's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020

If youre going to install a plug in that metal box you could bond the ground wire to box with a ground screw then run a ground wire from that point to your plug if theres room in the box.
Or you could possibly just install a gfi plug ,again if theres enough room in the box for it.
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:45 AM   #4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,769
Rewards Points: 2,494

The ground to the receptacle does not affect functionality of the receptacle. But think of the ground as an airbag in a vehicle. If you need the airbag in a vehicle you are going to hope it is there. Same as ground on a device. If you need the ground fault, you are going to hope it is there.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:57 AM   #5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,821
Rewards Points: 3,748

Wire nut on an extra length of wire to reach the green screw on the receptacle with.

The metal box also needs to be grounded, for example:
1. The extra length is long enough to be looped around a screw at the back of the box and still come out to reach the green screw on the receptacle,
2. You wire nut on two such pigtails, one for the receptacle green screw and the other to attach to the box,
3. You get a clip specifically for the purpose and squash that between the receptacle frame (yoke) and where it screws onto the end of the box.
4. You get a clip specifically for the purpose and hold the ground wire somewhere on the rim of the box.

A screw at the back of the box holding a wire clamp that doesn't go all the way down against the box without squashing the cables may not be used to hold on a ground wire.

A ground wire or strip that runs lengthwise against the inside of flexible metal conduit and outside any paper wrapping within does not have to come out far enough to be connected to boxes or green screws when the boxes at both ends are metal. But the receptacle needs to be bonded to the box using a pigtail or a clip.

If the ground wire end is much too short, I would consider making a tight spiral at one end of a pigtail, pressing that over and the ground wire end, and soldering it.
States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-16-2012 at 10:09 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:36 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000

self grounding receptacle


"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting outlet without ground GoHoos Electrical 1 06-12-2011 07:44 AM
Open Ground in Non Daisy Chained Outlet Circuit RileyRR Electrical 2 05-18-2011 02:00 PM
Can I ground an outlet via a cable jack? OhNevermindMe Electrical 7 04-15-2010 10:06 PM
Are old 2 prong sockets safe for modern electrical appliances? saturninered Electrical 17 10-09-2008 11:25 AM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 11:12 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1