Safe To 'insert' A Couple Lights Inline With 3 Outlets? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 05:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


I have one 14/2 wire from the attic feeding three outlets in a small room. Wire from attic goes to outlet #1 which in turn feeds outlet#2 then outlet#3 where it ends. I've been asked to put two small recessed lights in the ceiling. I'm thinking of cutting the wire in the attic, using that to feed the two recessed lights 7 feet away, then run it back to the wall and splice back together with the line feeding outlet#1. Any of the three outlets are only ever used to power one laser printer, one table lamp (65w) and occasionally a laptop computer. I've wired some crazy stuff at my house in the past, but it's always been 'If it doesn't work I'll fix it later'. This not being my house I'd like to do it properly so I'm asking y'all for your thoughts/suggestions. I guess I'll go try to figure out which circuit this is all on and what amp the fuse is now that I've just thought of that.

Thanks,
Mark

EDIT: Can't run from the 3rd outlet up the wall due to an enormous window being in the way.

Advertisement

machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:19 PM   #2
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Why do you have to run it back to the attic? Why not just take the power from that wire in the attic, just one run?

Advertisement

picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Are these the only 3 outlets on the circuit? The cable in the attic goes directly to the panel?
MitNotrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Was assuming I had to keep it all 'in line'. IE, the wire in the attic feeds the new lights then comes back to feed the first outlet and continue from there. Thought it would be a bad idea to just splice into the line and run directly to new lights.
machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


To put it very nicely you are not allowed to be doing work for others if your not licensed.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-12-2012), Speedy Petey (02-16-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 05:43 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by machouinard View Post
I've wired some crazy stuff at my house in the past, but it's always been 'If it doesn't work I'll fix it later'.
This is a very dangerous way to deal with electricity.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-16-2012)
Old 02-11-2012, 05:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MitNotrof View Post
Are these the only 3 outlets on the circuit? The cable in the attic goes directly to the panel?
No, they are not the only things on that circuit. Unfortunately all the wiring is neatly hidden behind some custom cabinets as well as sufficiently inaccessible in the attic, so for all intents and purposes I have no idea what's on that circuit. I'll need to figure out those 'little' details before I do anything. Thanks for the reply.
machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 11:21 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


They don't have to be inline. You can do a star setup. Tap into the line in the attic or at any of the receptacles and go to the lights and the receptacles. If there is not enough slack it could take two boxes to make the connections.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 12:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
To put it very nicely you are not allowed to be doing work for others if your not licensed.
For real, please!
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:00 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
For real, please!
This

I've wired some crazy stuff at my house in the past, but it's always been 'If it doesn't work I'll fix it later'

Plus this.

This not being my house I'd like to do it properly so I'm asking y'all for your thoughts/suggestions. I guess I'll go try to figure out which circuit this is all on and what amp the fuse is now that I've just thought of that.
Equal this.

To put it very nicely you are not allowed to be doing work for others if your not licensed.

With the question being asked, he should not attempt to do any electrical work!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-13-2012), Jim Port (02-12-2012), Speedy Petey (02-16-2012)
Old 02-13-2012, 12:16 AM   #11
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan

This

I've wired some crazy stuff at my house in the past, but it's always been 'If it doesn't work I'll fix it later'

Plus this.

This not being my house I'd like to do it properly so I'm asking y'all for your thoughts/suggestions. I guess I'll go try to figure out which circuit this is all on and what amp the fuse is now that I've just thought of that.
Equal this.

To put it very nicely you are not allowed to be doing work for others if your not licensed.

With the question being asked, he should not attempt to do any electrical work!
Agreed.
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 12:38 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


There are few rules we the electrician have to follow and we can not advise anything if out of the line so for your safety sake please understand us sometime we can get harsh but we do for your safety and protection.

machouinard.,

I just read your question and as soon I did see couple keywords that really cross the line and you can not extend or add a circuit if you are NOT licensed end of the discussion and to make it worst you say this is not your home that is a automatique red flag in most area.

I have see some really crazy stuff what some peoples done and they did not follow the rules et codes.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:13 AM   #13
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
To put it very nicely you are not allowed to be doing work for others if your not licensed.

not in all areas..... I have seen some very jacked up work that homeowners have done, as im sure the rest of the electricians have. One example comes to mind......... RG-59 coaxial cable running through a wall to a receptacle with a 1500 watt heater plugged in to it. I doubt the homeowners on this site are doing anything THAT bad (since they are doing research on here figuring out how to do it right) But i would still bet a good percentage of the homeowner electrical work on here would give me nightmares. Bottom line is that this guy is going to do the work, so we might as well help him to do the best and safest install he can do. Not all areas require an electrical license.



Cut the 14-2 and put a jbox in the attic. Unless you have a way to get some slack, you will have to put another jbox a few feet away, with a short chunk of cable running in between the two. Then you have a jbox you steal power from for your new lighting project
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:21 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Jimmy, you missed the part where he said it was not his house!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:33 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 533
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Safe to 'insert' a couple lights inline with 3 outlets?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Jimmy, you missed the part where he said it was not his house!
I didn't. I live where it is not necessary to be licensed to be an electrician. But it is necessary to get all work inspected by an independent electrical agency.

I also am smart enough not to add lights to a circuit of 14-2 wire of which I do not know what is on it.

Advertisement

framer52 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing old outlets (grounded vs none) Sonya_ Electrical 14 10-08-2011 12:37 AM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 09:49 PM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 09:23 PM
Gun Safe vs. Floor Joists allen1466 Building & Construction 9 03-03-2006 09:16 AM
halogen lights fitted into a polystyrene ceiling - safe? jono_wales Electrical 1 03-07-2005 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts