RV Vs Cabin Electric Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 03:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


We are putting in new electric service in a rural area. We’ll have 2 poles set to reach our property, then we’ll be trenching about 250 ft. Our plan is to put in RV service and later build a cabin about 20 ft over. Now we have to purchase the conduit and line and, which I understand the line is different for the RV service. I'm wondering if I should put in a “permanent service” (future cabin) and run a line for the RV from that. Is that possible? I'm concerned that running the line used for the RV service won't work for the cabin later, is that correct? Based on what I’m wanting to accomplish how would you suggest I go about doing it? Thanks.

Advertisement

trekketoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 04:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Quote:
Originally Posted by trekketoo;866791[I
][/I]I'm wondering if I should put in a “permanent service” (future cabin) and run a line for the RV from that.
That is the most logical way to approach the two locations. Itll cost you more up front, but it will be worth it when you decide to build the cabin.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (02-29-2012)
Old 02-29-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


I would suggest a permanent underground service at the cabin site you want and up size the wire for the length and voltage drop. Then run power from there to where your RV will be.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (02-29-2012)
Old 02-29-2012, 04:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Thanks for the replies. I don't have any electrical knowlege but will have some help, but I needed to know if my plan of attack sounded ok.

Missouri Bound, I'm from Missouri. Our new service will be down in the ozarks.
trekketoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Quote:
Originally Posted by trekketoo View Post
Thanks for the replies. I don't have any electrical knowlege but will have some help, but I needed to know if my plan of attack sounded ok.
Just make sure you run your plan by the power company and the inspector to make sure they agree. You should also be able to get document from your power company stating what they require.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (02-29-2012)
Old 02-29-2012, 04:46 PM   #6
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,827
Rewards Points: 2,142
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Definitely check with the power company before you do anything.

Some power companies want to do whatever is economically possible to go underground to the meter because it reduces their maintenance, repair/maintenance costs and down time.

I built a summer home in northern MN and it was 1 mile off the highway, but fortunately the power company went underground along the local access road. When I built, the only way to hook up was underground for 200' to my temporary/permanent meter at no extra charge because they had the time and equipment and hated to go out later when there was an outage and trim trees.

They even worked with cable company than installed the mile of underground parallel. That made the cable connection reliable when I eventually did enough construction and got around to connecting.

It is worth a try and contact, although the situation could be different.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (03-13-2012)
Old 02-29-2012, 09:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Where abouts? I'm in the Ozarks as well.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:39 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


I'd use a combination meter/service panel, and mount it on a pedestal.

You could install a branch circuit breaker for the RV outlet, and eventually connect the cabin service to the same panel without having to get the utility involved later. Meter, main breaker, branch circuits, and feed-thru all in one box. You can even install a generator interlock kit and inlet later if you want.

Click here for one example.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (03-13-2012), zappa (03-01-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 12:21 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


I second those meter mains. Just be sure to get one with feed through lugs that you could run to your cabin when you are ready. I love those because they are great for remote projects. I used one for a service to a maple sugar house. 200 amps will allow them to expand with no trouble at all.

Just a hint my supply house had some better deals on them than the big box stores. I would have to look up the invoice but I remember it being under 200
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 03-01-2012 at 12:24 AM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (03-13-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 06:59 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
...Just a hint my supply house had some better deals on them than the big box stores. I would have to look up the invoice but I remember it being under 200
The link I provided sells `em for $130. Substantially less than the supply house "under 200" scenario.

My supply house can't touch `em for that price
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
trekketoo (03-13-2012)
Old 03-13-2012, 10:49 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


It's in Reynolds county near Black River. I grew up there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Where abouts? I'm in the Ozarks as well.
trekketoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:51 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


The man that will be helping us said to get a pass through box, is that what you would call this? I mentioned pass through box to another electrician and he didn't know what that was.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
I'd use a combination meter/service panel, and mount it on a pedestal.

You could install a branch circuit breaker for the RV outlet, and eventually connect the cabin service to the same panel without having to get the utility involved later. Meter, main breaker, branch circuits, and feed-thru all in one box. You can even install a generator interlock kit and inlet later if you want.

Click here for one example.

trekketoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Quote:
Originally Posted by trekketoo View Post
The man that will be helping us said to get a pass through box, is that what you would call this? I mentioned pass through box to another electrician and he didn't know what that was.
Try "feed through lugs", he should know what that means. Say for an example you have a 200 amp service, you could feed through the box that kbsparky shows to your cabin with a 200 amp service. Or you could put a seperate breaker in for the cabin but I think you would be limited to 125 amps because of the max breaker size.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:36 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
The link I provided sells `em for $130. Substantially less than the supply house "under 200" scenario.

My supply house can't touch `em for that price
Same here I just grabbed an invoice when I bought one this January and it was a Millbank 8 space 16 circuit with feed through and it was 165.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 02:34 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RV vs cabin electric service


I have a question about wire size. The person helping us said to get the 4/0 triplex aluminum wire and we'll use 2inch conduit schedule 80. I'm looking at the electrical company specifications and the 4/0 triplex is listed for over head wires and underground 200amp service says to use Aluminum phase #4/0 and Neutral 2/0. Sounds like the only difference between those would be one more wire in the triplex. We're trenching about 210 or more feet. Is there really much difference between the 2? Why does the electric company have lesser of a wire when going underground? Seems you would need more wire.

Thanks

Advertisement

trekketoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camper , electric , trench


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 08:55 PM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help stquality Electrical 10 08-15-2010 11:14 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM
electric service in garage kelr Electrical 2 03-26-2005 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts