Rv 30 Amp Electric Service To Build F - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

rv 30 amp electric service to build f


Hello Id like to hook my rv up at home. how and what kind of wire and box should I use, i have a fetached garage that i can go to but what should i do and how to wire any help would be great also its no more than 25 or 50 ft from the box to the rv.

Advertisement

dottiewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,021
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

rv 30 amp electric service to build f


Is your RV's shore power connection 30-amp, or 50-amp? Each uses a different receptacle and, obviously, different wire and circuit breaker size.

I did this for my RV, which uses 30-amp shore power, so that's what I'll describe:

To connect to your house panel, you'll need a 30-amp, single pole breaker. For the conductor I used 10/2 UF wire, which is approved for direct burial (burial depth varies by local code - I buried mine 24 inches). You can also use individual conductors in conduit, which may be more expensive. The receptacle you need is unique to RVs; it is a NEMA TT-30R. Places like Lowe's and Home Depot may not carry them. The easiest thing to do is go to an RV place, where you can buy the receptacle mounted in a weatherproof box.

I know this is a DIY site, but the way you phrased your question suggests to me that you don't know much about electricity or electrical work. If that's not the case, I apologize. If it is, then please have somebody help you who is familiar with it. This job is not complicated, but can be dangerous - parts of your breaker panel will be live even if you open the main breaker.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:03 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,813
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

rv 30 amp electric service to build f


If your detached garage doesn't already have a sub panel in it...
plan to do that as the first part of the project.

At that point... one more circuit in there will go to the RV (30A/120V) receptacle.
Easy peasy.

eta: There are about 200 threads here on how to do the garage panel.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to properly ground electric service mac70pete Electrical 1 05-25-2011 06:39 PM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help stquality Electrical 10 08-15-2010 11:14 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM
electric service in garage kelr Electrical 2 03-26-2005 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts