Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 09:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Hello, I am re-wiring an old house. I am learning as I go with yinz guys help, Thanks!

I am running some wires for receptacles and lights through the attic. The attic is unusable and only has acces through a hole in the ceiling, can I just secure the wires to the joists up there? Or should I put holes through the beams?

And does every wall in a bedroom have to have a receptacle exactly 6 feet from the door? Because I can put one in the wall but it is about 6.5 feet from the door. The other wall by the door has one 2 feet from the same door. The problem is that the wall is plaster on brick and the only place I can put a receptacle on that wall is further than 6 feet but way less than 12 feet from the first receptacle to the left of the door.
Thanks for reading this. And the house is in Pittsburgh.

Thanks.

EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:08 AM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Is this on the second floor, or do you have access to the floor by way of crawl space?

You could install a receptacle in the floor (if possible) to meet requirements

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,555
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardButters View Post
Hello, I am re-wiring an old house. I am learning as I go with yinz guys help,

For doing a total re-wire and learning as you go I say Wow!!!!!!!!!

Receptacles should be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more that 6 ft from another receptacle.

The maximum distance between receptacles is 12 ft

Wall space includes space measured around corners.

Some rules apply when you encounter glass door fixed panels.

Last edited by hammerlane; 02-06-2013 at 07:20 AM.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:17 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


It is the second floor bedroom. It is no problem for an outlet to be in the floor? That seems dangerous if something spilled or something?
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:21 AM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


There are special receptacles w/ covers and boxes made for floor use.
As long as it's within 18" of the wall, it will meet the requirements for wall space.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:23 AM   #6
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
For doing a total re-wire and learning as you go I say Wow!!!!!!!!!

Receptacles should be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more that 6 ft from another receptacle.

The maximum distance between receptacles is 12 ft

Wall space includes space measured around corners.

Some rules apply when you encounter glass door fixed panels.
You didn't need to edit your first post, it said it all
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:26 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,555
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


320.23 In Accessible Attics. Cables in accessible attics or roof spaces that are suitable for storage shall be installed according to 320.23(A) and (B). Spaces that have no floor installed and are not accessible by permanent stairs or ladders shall be considered unsuitable for storage in applying the requirements of this section.

(A) Where Run Across the Top of Floor Joists. Where run across the top of floor joists, or within 2.1 m (7 ft) vertically of floors installed across the top of rafters or studding, cable shall be protected by substantial guard strips at least as high as the cable. Where this space is not accessible by permanent stairs or ladders, protection shall only be required within 3' horizontally of the nearest edge of the flooring installed.

4.) Substantiation: Attic spaces without flooring are not suitable for storage due to the fact that the finished ceiling below the rafters is unprotected and subject to damage by stored items. Residents are still likely to store items in spaces that are easily accessible (such as when permanent stairs are installed) despite having no flooring.

Under the 2005 NEC, cables in attic spaces that are not readily usuable for storage spaces are being needlessly protected against damage that will not likely occur. Revising this text will be as effective, while relieving installers from the requirement to protect cables where no such protection is necessary.

In addition, the removal of the reference to the term "AC cable" in 320.23 will provide clarity in relation to other articles that reference this code, such as 334.23. The term "AC cable" is unnecessary in this context, as it is located in the article by the same name.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:27 AM   #8
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


As for running through an attic, as long as the wired stay a minimum of 7ft away from the attic access, it's fine.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:47 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Hammer, Gac, thank you very much. I sincerely appreciate your time helping me.

I gutted the first floor so I am not having too much trouble, I am going up to the attic or down to the first floor. I am using more wire but I'm taking my time and reading as much as I can find on the Internet and old fashioned books too. Haha. I had a couple of bonehead mistakes but I really am learning as I go. I put it off because I was completely clueless but a light bulb lit up when I figured out the daisy chain!

Not looking forward to the plumbing
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:54 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,555
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardButters View Post
Hammer, Gac, thank you very much. I sincerely appreciate your time helping me.

I gutted the first floor so I am not having too much trouble, I am going up to the attic or down to the first floor. I am using more wire but I'm taking my time and reading as much as I can find on the Internet and old fashioned books too. Haha. I had a couple of bonehead mistakes but I really am learning as I go. I put it off because I was completely clueless but a light bulb lit up when I figured out the daisy chain!

Not looking forward to the plumbing
You seriously have never done any wiring before or never even took it in shop class in school??
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:07 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Never took it in shop but I worked for a defense contractor about five years ago and I built wiring harnesses for helicopters. All I'm doing really is running wires from the box in the basement to each room and cutting holes for the boxes and letting the wires hang out. I have this old book about renovating old houses that has a section with 30 different ways to run wires, I'm going by that. My father in law knows an electrician who will check my work and install the outside box.

I have another question...

I need to put in two switches and two light at the top and bottom of the stairs. The switches will control both lights. Here is my plan, is this right?

Feed to first switch then 12-3 to first light then TWO 12-2 WIRES to second light then 12-3 to second switch. Can I use two 12-2 wires or do I need to buy 12-4 wire?
EdwardButters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:00 AM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post

Receptacles should be installed so that no point measured horizontally along the floor line in any wall space is more that 6 ft from another receptacle.

The maximum distance between receptacles is 12 ft

What? That is a very confusing statement
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:13 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
What? That is a very confusing statement
Why is that confusing. Six feet either way is 12 feet.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:16 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running wires through an unfinished attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by EdwardButters View Post
Never took it in shop but I worked for a defense contractor about five years ago and I built wiring harnesses for helicopters. All I'm doing really is running wires from the box in the basement to each room and cutting holes for the boxes and letting the wires hang out. I have this old book about renovating old houses that has a section with 30 different ways to run wires, I'm going by that. My father in law knows an electrician who will check my work and install the outside box.

I have another question...

I need to put in two switches and two light at the top and bottom of the stairs. The switches will control both lights. Here is my plan, is this right?

Feed to first switch then 12-3 to first light then TWO 12-2 WIRES to second light then 12-3 to second switch. Can I use two 12-2 wires or do I need to buy 12-4 wire?
I tried to get my head around what you plan on doing. But with no experience at all I would suggest you study an updated book about home wiring before you go any further.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running a subpanel to unfinished basement biodieselbob Electrical 3 08-08-2011 11:44 AM
Advice for insulating attic kneewall from unfinished side... pasichnyk Building & Construction 10 12-19-2010 07:38 PM
adding 2nd floor circuit by running wires outside in PVC - advice? reags Electrical 16 08-06-2010 10:32 AM
Protecting wires running into a panel tigereye Electrical 4 11-22-2009 10:08 PM
running ethernet through attic null_pointer_us Building & Construction 3 05-15-2006 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.