Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2011, 08:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running wires / NEC question


Hi -

My city uses NEC 2008. I am in the process of finishing the basement in a relatively new construction home. The exterior walls are 2x2 with insulation between the studs and the cement wall.

Before installing all of the wiring/receptacles/switches - does code allow wiring to be run behind the studs (between studs and insulation) since they are 2x2 or do we still have to drill through them and run the wires through like in a 2x4 wall?

Thanks

duhtroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running wires / NEC question


Quote:
Originally Posted by duhtroll View Post
Hi -

My city uses NEC 2008. I am in the process of finishing the basement in a relatively new construction home. The exterior walls are 2x2 with insulation between the studs and the cement wall.

Before installing all of the wiring/receptacles/switches - does code allow wiring to be run behind the studs (between studs and insulation) since they are 2x2 or do we still have to drill through them and run the wires through like in a 2x4 wall?

Thanks
Never seen 2x2 studs used before. You have to have a minimum distance for mechanical protection (not sure on the distance for NEC). If you ran the wires behind the studs you would still have to find some way of supporting the cable.

CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:31 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running wires / NEC question


Keep wiring 1.25" from the front of the 2x2
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:42 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,819
Rewards Points: 2,436
Default

running wires / NEC question


The cables would also need to be 1 1/4" from the sides of the 2x's.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:34 AM   #5
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,072
Rewards Points: 506
Blog Entries: 7
Default

running wires / NEC question


Really the 2x2's would be more appropriately referred to as furring strips rather than studs I believe, but you might consider using conduit and then you have your mechanical protection and don't have to worry about making a half inch hole in the last quarter inch of your board.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:29 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

running wires / NEC question


Is there a gap between the studs and the block wall? If there is you can run the cable behind the studs.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 04:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running wires / NEC question


There is room behind the 2x2 strips (it is basically a nailing surface) and in front of the insulation so we will be running the wiring behind the studs, securing every 48" and that will allow 1.75" plus the 0.75" for the drywall - should be fine.

Thanks

duhtroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running wires alongside or through ductwork j_sun Electrical 1 07-13-2011 12:11 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Dumb question, how do you twist your wires together? Piedmont Electrical 62 04-13-2010 03:50 AM
Basic cable running question epeterson777 Electrical 14 02-07-2009 07:33 AM
running wires in a conduit analogmusicman Electrical 50 07-13-2008 09:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.