Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2007, 09:56 AM   #1
Member
 
mt232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 117
Share |
Default

Running wires in corners


I'm running wires in a newly-constructed add-a-level. The corners are 3 or 4 2x4's, so they are really solid, I tried drilling in from each direction, hoping to meet the holes and feed the wire through. That is not working, what can I do? One suggestion ws to go up an over, then back down the other side. I thought a logical approach was to notch out the wood, then cover it with a metal strip, but I don't know if thats proper.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

mt232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Running wires in corners


you can drill a bigger holes I suppose... using hole saw... at least this is better than cut the wood and fill it with metal strip... and then there are those wire fishing stuff you can use to fish the wires... once the holes are big enough... it wouldn't be that difficult...somthing like 0.75" to 1" diameter hole...

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Running wires in corners


Why isn't drilling the hole working? Is it that you can't get the wire through? If the holes line up, use something a little more flexible to fish through the hole and then pull the wire through. Once the wire is through, you'll have to push and pull to feed it through.
__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:27 AM   #4
Member
 
mt232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 117
Default

Running wires in corners


I was concerned about drilling too big of a hole, don't I have to stay 1.75 inches from either side of the stud? Is it ok to risk the bigger hole and put a plate in front of it so i pass the inspection the first time?
mt232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:34 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Running wires in corners


You can drill the hole just big enough to do the fishing, but not too big, and make the hole closer to the concrete wall so that it still have enough distance from the front to follow the code requirement, I don't know if it is 1.75 inch though... I can imagine it is real hard if you hole is so small that the wire is being so tight through when pulling it even straight, not to mention turning corner... you can try smaller drills first and go up one at a time until you find the hole size just right...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 12:28 PM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,533
Default

Running wires in corners


Use a 3/4 or 7/8 bit, drill from both sides, meeting in the middle. Don't worry about maintaining the 1.25in minimum distance from the nailing surface, just use nail plates. Put a bend in the cable at about the same distance as the turn, insert the end of the cable in the hole up to the bend, push toward the wall to make the turn, and you're through.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 12:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Running wires in corners


Quote:
Originally Posted by mt232 View Post
I was concerned about drilling too big of a hole, don't I have to stay 1.75 inches from either side of the stud? Is it ok to risk the bigger hole and put a plate in front of it so i pass the inspection the first time?

If you make a larger hole, you need a plate. Nothing wrong with doing that.
__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 12:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Running wires in corners


I remember reading from the book that you need xyz depth from the front but there is no restriction at the back...so 1.75 inches for both front and back seems not really required...as this is to prevent screw/nails punched onto the wire, and screws won't go from the back...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 04:45 PM   #9
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,180
Default

Running wires in corners


Quote:
and screws won't go from the back...
So what holds the plywood on the outside of the house, or drywall on the other side of the wall?

Last edited by jproffer; 04-04-2007 at 04:47 PM.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 07:59 AM   #10
Member
 
mt232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 117
Default

Running wires in corners


Thanks for all the replies, I got one out of the four yesterday, not alot of time available yesterday.

The siding is not on yet, so I am concerned about the back....I will stay too close to the front if anything so it is easy to add nail plates.

Is that the official name in the store "nail plates"? or do I have to cut them myself, out of beer cans?
mt232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 08:52 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Running wires in corners


I thought it was basement renovation... surround with concrete... ..anyhow... I cut those heavy metal bar myself for the plate... I do have a metal saw though... those circle long chain slow moving saw... forget how they call it... it will be too hard to cut by hand...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 09:05 AM   #12
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,533
Default

Running wires in corners


Generally referred to as "nail guards", they are available off the shelf at the big box or at the electrical supply.

Beer can metal is too thin. You would have to make several layers to get the required 1/16" protection. After that many beers, you would forget what it was you were trying to accomplish.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 07:53 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Running wires in corners




Nail Plate

these are generally found in the big box in plumbing or metal conduit fittings area


stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 04-05-2007 at 07:58 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 09:21 PM   #14
Member
 
ADKstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 46
Default

Running wires in corners


Home Depot's Wiring 123 has some info on wiring at corners (pg 125 thru 127).

ADKstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Curved corners where drywall meets? SouthGAreno Remodeling 12 01-17-2013 03:10 PM
Running wires mt232 Electrical 4 03-22-2007 08:02 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Running a generator for power outages tropic home Electrical 5 12-04-2006 08:22 PM
running ethernet through attic null_pointer_us Building & Construction 3 05-15-2006 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.